0 Items $0.00

YA @ Books Inc Presents: Virtual Book Launch with SAFIA ELHILLO

*Please Note: Pre-registration via Eventbrite is required. Zoom information will be sent leading up to the event date.*

YA @ Books Inc proudly presents poet and debut YA author Safia Elhillo in celebration of her YA novel in verse Home is Not a Country. Safia will be in conversation with Make Me A World publisher, author, and illustrator Christopher Myers (Firebird & Bronx Masqureade). They will also be joined by special guests, poets Aria Aber, Hieu Minh Nguyen, Paul Tran, and sam sax.

A mesmerizing novel in verse about family, identity, and finding yourself in the most unexpected places--for fans of The Poet XI Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter, and Jason Reynolds.

Nima doesn't feel understood. By her mother, who grew up far away in a different land. By her suburban town, which makes her feel too much like an outsider to fit in and not enough like an outsider to feel like that she belongs somewhere else. At least she has her childhood friend Haitham, with whom she can let her guard down and be herself.Until she doesn't.

As the ground is pulled out from under her, Nima must grapple with the phantom of a life not chosen, the name her parents didn't give her at birth: Yasmeen. But that other name, that other girl, might just be more real than Nima knows. And more hungry.And the life Nima has, the one she keeps wishing were someone else's. . .she might have to fight for it with a fierceness she never knew she had.

Nothing short of magic...One of the best writers of our times.-- Elizabeth Acevedo, New York Times Bestselling author of The Poet X

Event date: 
Tuesday, March 2, 2021 - 5:00pm
Event address: 
Virtual Event
Via Zoom
San Francisco, CA
............

One of Books Inc.’s favorite aspects of being booksellers is getting the chance to welcome and host hundreds of authors a year, from house-hold names to local, debut authors and we look forward to continuing to provide the Bay Area with “The Experience You Can’t Download” in our stores when we can assure authors and guests that it is safe to do so. In the meantime, we are working on an exciting list of virtual events for both adults and children and we look forward to exploring this new format with you.

Sales equate success, and as with in-store events, booksales made from an independent bookstore benefit the author, publisher, and lead to future event bookings. Please help us keep the Bay Area the wonderful literary hub that it is by supporting your local Books Inc.