0 Items $0.00

The WILD GIRLS MOTHER-DAUGHTER BOOK CLUB at Books Inc. Laurel Village

The WILD GIRLS MOTHER-DAUGHTER BOOK CLUB (Ages 9-12) will discuss Parked by Danielle Svetcov.

Event date: 
Sunday, March 8, 2020 - 1:00pm
Event address: 
Books Inc.
3515 California St.
San Francisco, CA
............
Books: 
Parked Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780399539039
Availability: In Stock Now - Click Title to See Store Inventory. Books must show IN STOCK at your desired location for same day pick-up.
Published: Dial Books - February 4th, 2020

March 2020 Selection:  For fans of Rebecca Stead and Joan Bauer comes a scrappy, poignant, uplifting debut about family, friendship, and the importance of learning both how to offer help and how to accept it.

"A big-hearted novel with characters I wish were my friends in real life." --Gennifer Choldenko, author of the Al Capone at Alcatraz series

 

Jeanne Ann is smart, stubborn, living in an orange van, and determined to find a permanent address before the start of seventh grade.

 

Cal is tall, sensitive, living in a humongous house across the street, and determined to save her.

 

Jeanne Ann is roughly as enthusiastic about his help as she is about living in a van.

 

As the two form a tentative friendship that grows deeper over alternating chapters, they're buoyed by a cast of complex, oddball characters, who let them down, lift them up, and leave you cheering. Debut novelist Danielle Svetcov shines a light on a big problem without a ready answer, nailing heartbreak and hope, and pulling it off with a humor and warmth that make the funny parts of Jeanne Ann and Cal's story cathartic and the difficult parts all the more moving.

 


Books Inc. proudly hosts hundreds of authors a year, from house-hold names to local, debut authors and we look forward to continuing to provide the Bay Area with the “Experience You Can’t Download”. The majority of our events are free and open to the public; all that we ask is that you have a Books Inc. receipt to join the signing line.   

Sales equate success, for the publisher, for the author, and especially for an independent bookstore. The more books we sell at our events, the more authors we have sent our way.  Please help us keep the Bay Area the wonderful literary hub that it is by supporting your local Books Inc.