SPECULATIVE FICTION BOOK CLUB at Books Inc. Mountain View

Cover image of Children of Blood and Bone

The Speculative Fiction Book Club focuses on science fiction, fantasy, and tales of alternate social realities. Picks include classics, contemporary, and young adult. Each meeting starts with a check-in period when attendees get a chance to summarize their feelings and rate the book at hand. Followed by free-for-all general discussion. We have an established group of regular participants, and always welcome new members. 

This month we're reading Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi!


Featuring stunning spray-painted and stenciled edges, Tomi Adeyemi’s West African-inspired fantasy Legacy of Orïsha series debut, and instant #1 New York Times Bestseller, Children of Blood and Bone conjures a world of magic and danger, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.

A #1 New York Times Bestseller!

In a world where magic has disappeared and magis, once revered, are targeted by a ruthless king, Zélie has always feared she would share the fate of her mother, killed at the hands of the king’s guards when Zélie was just a child.

Now, at seventeen, Zélie has a chance to bring magic back to the land of Orïsha. With the help of her brother Tzain and the fugitive Crown Princess Amari, she sets off on a journey to restore her people’s magical abilities. In order to succeed, they’ll have to outwit and outrun Prince Inan, who is hell-bent on ridding the world of magic.

In the face of danger, death, and a star-crossed romance, Zélie must grapple with the ramifications of bringing magic back to her people—and come to terms with her own powers.

 

A #1 New York Times Bestseller

“A phenomenon.” Entertainment Weekly

“The next big thing in literature and film.” Ebony

“One of the biggest young adult fiction debut book deals of the year.” Teen Vogue

“A magnificent, heartrending, earthshaking debut.” —New York Times–bestselling author Daniel José Older

“Adeyemi’s devastating debut is a brutal, beautiful tale of revolution, faith, and star-crossed love.” —Publishers Weeklystarred review

“Powerful, captivating, and rawAdeyemi is a talent to watch. Exceptional.” —Kirkus Reviewsstarred review

“Adeyemi keeps it fresh with an all-black cast of characters, a meaningful emphasis on fighting for justice, a complex heroine saving her own people, and a brand of magic made more powerful by the strength of heritage and ancestry. Perfect for fans of the expansive fantasy worlds of Leigh Bardugo, Daniel José Older, and Sabaa Tahir.” Booklist, starred review

“A refreshing YA fantasy with an all–West African cast of characters that should be on every shelf.” School Library Journalstarred review

Event date: 
Sunday, April 14, 2024 - 6:00pm
Event address: 
Books Inc. Mountain View
317 Castro St
Mountain View, CA 94041
............
Books: 
Staff Pick Badge
Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orisha #1) By Tomi Adeyemi Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781250294623
Availability: In Stock Now - Click Title to See Store Inventory. Please allow up to 48-hours for Curbside Pickup orders to be processed.
Published: Square Fish - February 27th, 2024