SPECULATIVE FICTION BOOK CLUB at Books Inc. Mountain View

Cover image of Legends & Lattes by Travis Baldree

The Speculative Fiction Book Club focuses on science fiction, fantasy, and tales of alternate social realities. Picks include classics, contemporary, and young adult. Each meeting starts with a check-in period when attendees get a chance to summarize their feelings and rate the book at hand. Followed by free-for-all general discussion. We have an established group of regular participants, and always welcome new members. 

This month we're reading Legends & Lattes by Travis Baldree!


A delightful fantasy debut for fans of TJ Klune and T Kingfisher, about a retired orc who trades the warrior life for the quiet life. Or so she planned...

The much-beloved BookTok sensation, Travis Baldree's novel of high fantasy and low stakes.

This new edition includes a very special, never-before-seen bonus story, 'Pages to Fill.'

After a lifetime of bounties and bloodshed, Viv is hanging up her sword for the last time.

The battle-weary orc aims to start fresh, opening the first ever coffee shop in the city of Thune. But old and new rivals stand in the way of success — not to mention the fact that no one has the faintest idea what coffee actually is.

If Viv wants to put the blade behind her and make her plans a reality, she won't be able to go it alone.

But the true rewards of the uncharted path are the travelers you meet along the way. And whether drawn together by ancient magic, flaky pastry, or a freshly brewed cup, they may become partners, family, and something deeper than she ever could have dreamed.

“Take a break from epic battles and saving the world. Legends & Lattes is a low-stakes fantasy that delivers exactly what's advertised: a wholesome, cozy novel that feels like a warm hug. This is my new comfort read.”Genevieve Gornichec, author of The Witch's Heart

 

Event date: 
Sunday, March 10, 2024 - 6:00pm
Event address: 
Books Inc. Mountain View
317 Castro St
Mountain View, CA 94041
............
Books: 
Staff Pick Badge
Legends & Lattes: A Novel of High Fantasy and Low Stakes By Travis Baldree Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250886088
Availability: In Stock Now - Click Title to See Store Inventory. Please allow up to 48-hours for Curbside Pickup orders to be processed.
Published: Tor Books - November 8th, 2022