SOPHIE DIAO at Books Inc. Laurel Village

Author image of Sophie Diao and cover photo of her book Tiny Troubles

Celebrate the authorial debut of Sophie Diao and her new picture book Tiny Troubles: Nelli’s Purpose at Books Inc. Laurel Village!


Two small plants who have big troubles and even bigger questions will charm readers in this laugh-out-loud debut picture book by the New York Times bestselling illustrator of I Am Golden, Sophie Diao. Perfect for fans of Goodnight Already! by Jory John and The Creature of Habit by Jennifer E. Smith.

Meet best friends, Nelli and Worthi.

Like all tiny succulents, Nelli and Worthi have VERY busy schedules—napping in the sun, sipping on water drops, and filling the days doing nothing.

But one morning, Nelli wonders: Is there more?

Have you ever heard of a purpose?

Hmm . . . Is it a baked potato?

That doesn’t sound right.

So what is it?

Join two tiny curious best friends as they embark on the ultimate adventure to answer big philosophical questions: What is purpose, and where can one find it?

 

[T]his comical, thought-provoking story will win hearts. -Kirkus Reviews

Tiny Troubles is a day in the life of a place you’ve never been but will want to go back to all the time. I love these characters, I love this place, I love this book. -Jon Klassen, bestselling creator of I Want My Hat Back and The Skull

“Inside every kid is a silly goose and an introspective, deeply serious goose. This book is for both geese.” -Monica Arnaldo, bestselling creator of Mr. S

Tiny Troubles ponders the big questions we all have, and reminds us of the everyday wonders that make life worth living. Like baked potatoes. -Nell Cross Beckerman, author

Tiny Troubles offers an opportunity for parents and children to discuss an important but abstract concept— one’s purpose in life! This book definitely starts deeper conversations in lighthearted and playful ways. -Cherry Mo, author-illustrator

 

Sophie Diao is an artist living in San Francisco. She's an illustrator of children’s books, including I Am the Wind written by Michael Karg, Sarah and the Big Wave written by Bonnie Tsui, and the bestseller I Am Golden written by Eva Chen. She is the creator of Tiny Troubles: Nelli's Purpose and is the talent behind many a Google Doodle. 

Event date: 
Saturday, April 13, 2024 - 2:00pm
Event address: 
Books Inc. Laurel Village
3515 California St
San Francisco, CA 94118
............
Books: 
Tiny Troubles: Nelli’s Purpose By Sophie Diao, Sophie Diao (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Sophie Diao, Sophie Diao (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9780063214460
Availability: In Stock Now - Click Title to See Store Inventory. Please allow up to 48-hours for Curbside Pickup orders to be processed.
Published: HarperCollins - April 9th, 2024