SEINA WEDLICK at Books Inc. Palo Alto

Author image of Seina Wedlick and cover photo of her book Naming Ceremony

Books Inc. Palo Alto proudly presents local author Seina Wedlick for a celebration of her book Naming Ceremony!


A sweet sibling story all about making family traditions your own--perfect for fans of Alma and How She Got Her Name and Welcome to the Party

Today's the day! It's Baby Sister's naming ceremony, and big sister Amira could not be more excited. She has the perfect name picked out . . . or, at least, she hopes it's the perfect name.

One by one, friends and family arrive. As Amira greets them, she asks what name they have brought to give to Baby Sister. Each is more beautiful than the last-- ShakiraAkahanaUhwe. And each has its own special meaning-- thankfulred flowermoonlight. Amira knows that Baby Sister will love these names. But will she love the name Amira has chosen? Is it special enough?

A story about rich traditions and the unique bond between sisters, Naming Ceremony celebrates multigenerational family and Black joy.

 

"Nigerian-born author Wedlick centers a West African name-giving tradition in this endearing debut, a tender sibling story that meaningfully celebrates extended family and ancestral tradition." -- Publisher's Weekly 

 

Seina Wedlick originally hails from Nigeria, but now makes her home in California. When not writing or working on special projects, Seina can be found exploring or spending time on the beach with her husband and children who each have several names. She also enjoys visiting bookstores and collecting postcards. 

Event date: 
Sunday, April 16, 2023 - 2:00pm
Event address: 
Town and Country Village
855 El Camino Real #74
Palo Alto, CA 94301
............
Books: 
Naming Ceremony: A Picture Book By Seina Wedlick, Jenin Mohammed (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Seina Wedlick, Jenin Mohammed (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781419756269
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Abrams Books for Young Readers - April 11th, 2023