SEINA WEDLICK at Books Inc. Mountain View

Author image of Seina Wedlick and cover photo of her book Naming Ceremony

Join Books Inc. Mountain View in welcoming local author Seina Wedlick for a special story time with her book Naming Ceremony!


A sweet sibling picture-book story all about making family traditions your own--perfect for fans of Alma and How She Got Her Name and Welcome to the Party.

Today's the day! It's Baby Sister's naming ceremony, and big sister Amira could not be more excited. She has the perfect name picked out . . . or, at least, she hopes it's the perfect name.

One by one, friends and family arrive. As Amira greets them, she asks what name they have brought to give to Baby Sister. Each is more beautiful than the last-- ShakiraAkahanaUhwe. And each has its own special meaning-- thankfulred flowermoonlight. Amira knows that Baby Sister will love these names. But will she love the name Amira has chosen? Is it special enough?

Written by Seina Wedlick and beautifully illustrated in full color by Jenin Mohammed, Naming Ceremony is a story about rich traditions and the unique bond between sisters, celebrating a multigenerational Nigerian family and Black joy.

 

Seina Wedlick originally hails from Nigeria, but now makes her home in California. When not writing or working on special projects, Seina can be found exploring or spending time on the beach with her husband and children who each have several names. She also enjoys visiting bookstores and collecting postcards. Naming Ceremony is her first book.

Event date: 
Sunday, September 17, 2023 - 11:00am
Event address: 
Books Inc. Mountain View
317 Castro St
Mountain View, CA 94041
............
Books: 
Naming Ceremony: A Picture Book By Seina Wedlick, Jenin Mohammed (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Seina Wedlick, Jenin Mohammed (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781419756269
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Abrams Books for Young Readers - April 11th, 2023