0 Items $0.00

NICOLETTE POLEK with SELENA ANDERSON, JORDAN CASTRO & MATTHEW ZAPRUDER at Books Inc. Berkeley

Nicolette Polek author photo Imaginary Museums cover image

Writer and pianist Nicolette Polek shares her stunning debut story collection, Imaginary Museums. Twenty-six surreal miniatures about displacement, mystery, and transformation Nicolette's writing is perfect for fans of Jen George's The Babysitter at Rest Ottessa Moshfegh's Homesick for Another World. Joining Nicolette for this special event will be Selena AndersonJordan Castro, and Matthew Zapruder.

Nicolette Polek is a writer from Cleveland, Ohio. She is a recipient of the 2019 Rona Jaffe Foundation Writers' Award.


Selena Anderson recently finished her PhD at University of Houston and completed her MFA at Columbia University. Her stories appear in such publications as BOMB, Fence, Oxford American, Callaloo, Georgia Review, and The Best of Gigantic, and have been honored with the Transatlantic/Henfield Prize and the Inprint Joan and Stanford Alexander Prize. She is working on a novel.

Jordan Castro is the editor of New York Tyrant magazine and the author of two books of poetry, Young Americans and if i really wanted to feel happy i’d feel happy already. His writing has appeared in Tin HouseMuumuu House,JukedNew World WritingHobart, and other publications. He is from Cleveland, Ohio.

Matthew Zapruder is the author of five collections of poetry, most recently Father’s Day, from Copper Canyon in Fall 2019, as well as Why Poetry, a book of prose. He is editor at large at Wave Books. From 2016-7 he held the annually rotating position of Editor of the Poetry Column for the New York Times Magazine. He teaches in the MFA at Saint Mary’s College of California.

Event date: 
Thursday, January 23, 2020 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
Books Inc.
1491 Shattuck Ave
Berkeley, CA
............
Books: 
Imaginary Museums: Stories Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781593765866
Availability: In Stock Now - Click Title to See Store Inventory. Books must show IN STOCK at your desired location for same day pick-up.
Published: Soft Skull Press - January 14th, 2020

Books Inc. proudly hosts hundreds of authors a year, from house-hold names to local, debut authors and we look forward to continuing to provide the Bay Area with the “Experience You Can’t Download”. The majority of our events are free and open to the public; all that we ask is that you have a Books Inc. receipt to join the signing line.   

Sales equate success, for the publisher, for the author, and especially for an independent bookstore. The more books we sell at our events, the more authors we have sent our way.  Please help us keep the Bay Area the wonderful literary hub that it is by supporting your local Books Inc.