MICHAEL LEALI at Books Inc. Palo Alto

Cover photo of The Truth about Triangles and author images of Michael Leali and AJ Sass

Join Books Inc. Palo Alto in welcoming award-winning author Michael Leali for the book launch of his newest middle grade novel The Truth About Triangles! 

Michael will be joined in conversation by fellow author A.J. Sass.


A heartfelt contemporary middle grade novel, perfect for fans of Front Desk, following Luca Salvatore, a young gay Italian American trying to save his family’s pizza restaurant and a life that feels like it’s falling apart after he learns that his parents may be separating and his first crush and best friend might be into each other.

Twelve-year-old Luca Salvatore is always running interference: in arguments between his younger twin siblings, in his parents’ troubled marriage, and between Will, the cute new boy in town, and Luca’s best friend, June, who just can’t seem to get along.

When the host of his favorite culinary TV show announces an open call for submissions for its final season, Luca is sure getting his family's failing pizzeria on the show will save it and bring his falling-apart family together. Surprisingly, securing a spot is easier than kneading dough—but when the plan to fix everything comes out burnt, Luca is left scrambling to figure out just the right recipe to bring his family and his friends back together.

From Lambda Literary Award finalist Michael Leali, The Truth About Triangles is full of heart and is perfect for readers of Lisa Jenn Bigelow, Kelly Yang, and Maulik Pancholy.

 

“Luca Salvatore is a delightful hero with a lot on his (pizza) plate! The Truth About Triangles draws readers in with humor and heart as Luca attempts to save his family business while navigating his parents’ separation and his first crush.” -Janae Marks, New York Times bestselling author of On Air with Zoe Washington

“A big-hearted, generous book about family, friendship, and first crushes. There’s nothing cheesy about The Truth About Triangles (except the pizza). I loved it.”  -Elana K. Arnold, Award-winning author of A Boy Called Bat and Damsel

The Truth about Triangles is sure to satiate middle-grade readers hungry for good old-fashioned sibling rivalry, lighthearted best-friend fights, entertaining entrepreneurial insights, and exceptional LGBTQIA+ representation. -Booklist

“Satisfying.” -Kirkus Reviews

 

Michael Leali is an award-winning writer and educator. He earned his MFA in writing for children and young adults from Vermont College of Fine Arts. He is the author of the Golden Kite Award–winning novel The Civil War of Amos Abernathy and Matteo. Born and raised in the suburbs of Chicago, Illinois, Michael currently lives in California.

A. J. Sass (he/they) is the author of the ALA Rainbow Book List Top 10 titles Ellen Outside the Lines, which was also a Sydney Taylor Honor Book, and Ana on the Edge, as well as Camp QUILTBAG (co-written with Nicole Melleby). He grew up in the Midwest and South, spending many of his summers with his family enjoying the beautiful Northwoods lakes and scenery in Wisconsin and the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. He now lives in the San Francisco Bay Area with his husband and two cats who act like dogs. He invites you to visit him online at sassinsf.com.

Event date: 
Tuesday, May 21, 2024 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
Books Inc. Palo Alto
855 El Camino Real #74
Palo Alto, CA 94301
............
Books: 
The Truth About Triangles By Michael Leali Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780063337367
Availability: In Stock Now - Click Title to See Store Inventory. Please allow up to 48-hours for Curbside Pickup orders to be processed.
Published: HarperCollins - May 21st, 2024