MELISSA DE LA CRUZ at Books Inc. Laurel Village

Author image of Melissa De La Cruz and cover photo of her book The Five Stages of Courting Dalisay Ramos

Join Books Inc. Laurel Village in welcoming romance author Melissa De La Cruz for a celebration of her newest swoon worthy novel The Five Stages of Courting Dalisay Ramos!


A sweet and spicy multicultural romantic comedy that that blends the rich tapestry of Filipino courtship rituals with the modern complexities of love, family, and cultural expectations, written by #1 New York Times bestselling author Melissa de la Cruz.

Evan Saatchi can’t keep his eyes off his new co-worker, Dalisay Ramos.

Newly arrived from Manila to lead their travel app’s Asia division, nothing matters more to Dalisay than tradition and family. When Evan asks her out, she soundly rejects him for his cheek.

Evan learns from his Filipino friends that Dalisay expects more from potential suitors. If he wants a chance with her, he’s going to have to go through the Five Stages: the courtship ritual that lovers in the Philippines have performed for generations.

At first, Evan is skeptical—what, exactly, does “servitude” entail? And he has to sing?! But when Dalisay bets Evan that he doesn’t have the nerve to make it through the stages, the game is on.

As Evan attempts to prove to Dalisay that he can win her heart—and the bet—Dalisay is driven to distraction by Evan’s sexy labors, and soon their “courtship” turns into a sizzling secret.

But when modern love and family expectations collide, Dalisay and Evan must find a way to carry a rich history into a shared future.

Featuring a memorable cast of characters navigating the intersection of cultural traditions, workplace dynamics, and the magic of true love, this heart-warming Asian American romance is perfect for fans of Kevin Kwan books, Red String Theory, and other voicey Asian American authors. Melissa de la Cruz thoughtfully explores the push and pull of contemporary desires and deep-rooted familial expectations, all set against the backdrop of a will-they-won’t-they workplace romance that will leave readers swooning.

 

“With an entertaining plot and lively characters, de la Cruz offers a romance about overcoming cultural differences, proving that true love is worth the effort.”Library Journal

"A Filipino courtship ritual is a uniquely interesting plot device in this sweet rom-com."— Kirkus Reviews

 

Melissa de la Cruz is the #1 New York Times, #1 Publishers Weekly, and #1 IndieBound bestselling author of Isle of the Lost and Return to the Isle of the Lost, as well as many critically acclaimed and award-winning novels for readers of all ages. Her books have also topped the USA TODAYWall Street Journal and Los Angeles Times bestseller lists and have been published in more than twenty countries. Today she lives in Los Angeles with her family.

Event date: 
Tuesday, July 9, 2024 - 6:00pm
Event address: 
Books Inc. Laurel Village
3515 California St
San Francisco, CA 94118
............
Books: 
The Five Stages of Courting Dalisay Ramos By Melissa de la Cruz Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781454947677
Availability: In Stock Now - Click Title to See Store Inventory. Please allow up to 48-hours for Curbside Pickup orders to be processed.
Published: Union Square & Co. - July 9th, 2024