0 Items $0.00

MAX TOMLINSON at Books Inc. Palo Alto

Max Tomlinson author photo and Vanishing in the Haight cover image

Alta Journal & Books Inc. present local mystery writer Max Tomlinson for a discussion of the first installment in his new Colleen Hayes Mystery series, Vanishing in the Haight.

Perfect for fans of Elmore Leonard and Gillian Flynn

Between fending off a lecherous parole officer and trying to get by in 1978 San Francisco, private investigator Colleen Hayes struggles to put her life back together so she can reconnect with her runaway teenage daughter. Then her life changes dramatically. She accepts a case from wealthy, retired industrialist Edward Copeland. The old man is desperate to solve the brutal murder of his daughter, a murder that took place in Golden Gate Park eleven years earlier--during the Summer of Love. The case has since gone cold, her murderer never found. Now, in his final days, Copeland hires Colleen to find his daughter's killer in hopes he might die in peace.

Colleen understands what it means to take a life--she spent a decade in prison for killing her ex. Battling her own demons, she immerses herself in San Francisco's underbelly, where police corruption is rampant. Her investigation turns deadly as she pries for information, yet there is little to go on. However, a song on the radio makes her wonder--did the murdered girl leave any clues that others may have missed?

Subscribe to Alta Magazine 

Event date: 
Thursday, November 7, 2019 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
Books Inc.
74 Town & Country Village
Palo Alto, CA
............
Books: 
Vanishing in the Haight (A Colleen Hayes Mystery #1) Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781608093410
Availability: In Stock Now - Click Title to See Store Inventory. Please allow up to 48-hours for Curbside Pickup orders to be processed.
Published: Oceanview Publishing - August 20th, 2019

One of Books Inc.’s favorite aspects of being booksellers is getting the chance to welcome and host hundreds of authors a year, from house-hold names to local, debut authors and we look forward to continuing to provide the Bay Area with “The Experience You Can’t Download” in our stores when we can assure authors and guests that it is safe to do so. In the meantime, we are working on an exciting list of virtual events for both adults and children and we look forward to exploring this new format with you.

Sales equate success, and as with in-store events, booksales made from an independent bookstore benefit the author, publisher, and lead to future event bookings. Please help us keep the Bay Area the wonderful literary hub that it is by supporting your local Books Inc.