0 Items $0.00

DANIELLE SVETCOV In Conversation with LINDSAY LACKEY at Books Inc. Laurel Village

Danielle Svetcov author photo and Parked cover image

Local writer Danielle Svetcov discusses her poignant debut middle grade work, Parked. Danielle will be in conversation with Lindsay Lackey, author of All the Impossible Things. (Ages 10+)

"A big-hearted novel with characters I wish were my friends in real life." --Gennifer Choldenko, author of the Al Capone at Alcatraz series

Jeanne Ann is smart, stubborn, living in an orange van, and determined to find a permanent address before the start of seventh grade.

Cal is tall, sensitive, living in a humongous house across the street, and determined to save her.

Jeanne Ann is roughly as enthusiastic about his help as she is about living in a van.

As the two form a tentative friendship that grows deeper over alternating chapters, they're buoyed by a cast of complex, oddball characters, who let them down, lift them up, and leave you cheering. Debut novelist Danielle Svetcov shines a light on a big problem without a ready answer, nailing heartbreak and hope, and pulling it off with a humor and warmth that make the funny parts of Jeanne Ann and Cal's story cathartic and the difficult parts all the more moving.

"Insightful [and] touching...Not to be missed." --Karen Cushman, author of The Midwife's Apprentice
"You won't be able to put it down. Trust." --ScaryMommy.com
"For readers of Dan Gemeinhart [and] Katherine Applegate." --The Children's Book Review
"Absorbing and warmhearted." --Annie Barrows, author of the Ivy & Bean series
"Pertinent....Honest...Uplifting...Fresh." --PW
"Realistically hopeful...Recommended." -- SLC
"Sharp...Perceptive." --BCCB
"Utterly of this moment." --Jack Cheng, author of See You in the Cosmos

Event date: 
Sunday, March 8, 2020 - 2:30pm
Event address: 
Books Inc. Laurel Village
3515 California St
San Francisco, CA
............
Books: 
Parked Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780399539039
Availability: In Stock Now - Click Title to See Store Inventory. Books must show IN STOCK at your desired location for same day pick-up.
Published: Dial Books - February 4th, 2020

All the Impossible Things Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250202864
Availability: In Stock Now - Click Title to See Store Inventory. Books must show IN STOCK at your desired location for same day pick-up.
Published: Roaring Brook Press - September 3rd, 2019

Books Inc. proudly hosts hundreds of authors a year, from house-hold names to local, debut authors and we look forward to continuing to provide the Bay Area with the “Experience You Can’t Download”. The majority of our events are free and open to the public; all that we ask is that you have a Books Inc. receipt to join the signing line.   

Sales equate success, for the publisher, for the author, and especially for an independent bookstore. The more books we sell at our events, the more authors we have sent our way.  Please help us keep the Bay Area the wonderful literary hub that it is by supporting your local Books Inc.