0 Items $0.00

D. WYSTAN OWEN and JAMEL BRINKLEY at Books Inc. Berkeley

cover images for Other People's Love Affairs and A Lucky Man

Join Books Inc. in Berkeley for a celebration of Threepenny Review contributors D. Wystan Owen and Jamel Brinkley sharing their respective and equally stunning debut story collections, Other People's Love Affairs and A Lucky Man

"D. Wystan Owen has a keen eye for what falls outside the spotlight and what's hidden underneath the surface. Writing in the tradition of Chekhov, William Trevor, and Alice Munro, Owen's stories remind us that the thrills and the dangers of living oftentimes go hand-in-hand with the everydayness of life. In these stories no loss is too small, each moment counts. Owen is not a trendy writer, but a classic one." -- Yiyun Li, author of Dear Friend, from My Life I Write to You in Your Life 

"With stunning clarity and generosity of detail, each of the nine stories leaves its own lasting impression, while the book as a whole coalesces into a devastating tapestry of confused masculinity, familial responsibility, and the intractable power of privilege to impede upon and redraw the boundaries of a life."--American Short Fiction

Event date: 
Tuesday, September 4, 2018 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
Books Inc.
1491 Shattuck Ave
Berkeley, CA
Event Terms: 
Other People's Love Affairs: Stories Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781616207052
Availability: In Stock Now - Click Title to See Store Inventory. Books must show IN STOCK at your desired location for same day pick-up.
Published: Algonquin Books - August 21st, 2018

A Lucky Man: Stories Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781555978051
Availability: In Stock Now - Click Title to See Store Inventory. Books must show IN STOCK at your desired location for same day pick-up.
Published: Graywolf Press - May 2018

Books Inc. proudly hosts hundreds of authors a year, from house-hold names to local, debut authors and we look forward to continuing to provide the Bay Area with the “Experience You Can’t Download”. The majority of our events are free and open to the public; all that we ask is that you have a Books Inc. receipt to join the signing line.   

Sales equate success, for the publisher, for the author, and especially for an independent bookstore. The more books we sell at our events, the more authors we have sent our way.  Please help us keep the Bay Area the wonderful literary hub that it is by supporting your local Books Inc.