Summer Fun: Reading & Cooking & Writing Middle Grade with CHRIS NEGRON and DEBRA GREEN via Zoom

The Last Super Chef and Violet and the Pie of Life cover images

*Please Note: Pre-registration via Eventbrite is required. Zoom information will be sent leading up to the event date.*

Books Inc. proudly presents author Chris Negron in celebration of his newest middle grade novel, The Last Super Chef. Chris will be in conversation with Debra L. Green, author of Violet and the Pie of Life. (Ages 8+)


About The Last Super Chef: Family and food take center stage in this heartfelt middle grade story perfect for fans of John David Anderson and Antony John.
For as long as he can remember, Curtis Pith has been obsessed with becoming a chef like Lucas Taylor, host of Super Chef. And Curtis has a secret: Taylor is actually his long-absent father.
So when Taylor announces a kids-only season of Super Chef, Curtis finally sees his chance to meet his dad. But after Curtis wins a spot in the competition and arrives in New York to film the show, nothing goes as smoothly as he expected.
It's all riding on the last challenge. If Curtis cooks his heart out like he knows he can, he just might go home with the top prize--and the truth.
 
About Violet and the Pie of LifeThere's no golden ratio for a family, despite what number-crunching Violet might think.
Twelve-year-old Violet has two great loves in her life: math and pie. And she loves her parents, even though her mom never stops nagging and her dad can be unreliable. Mom plus Dad doesn't equal perfection. Still, Violet knows her parents could solve their problems if they just applied simple math.
#1: Adjust the ratio of Mom's nagging to her compliments.
#2: Multiply Dad's funny stories by a factor of three.
#3: Add in romantic stuff wherever possible.
But when her dad walks out, Violet realizes that the odds do not look good. Why can't her parents get along like popular, perfect Ally's parents? Would it be better to have no dad at all, like her best friend, McKenzie? Violet is considering the data when she and Ally get cast in the school play, and McKenzie doesn't--a probability that Violet never calculated. Maybe friendship and family have more variables than she thought.
Filled with warmth, math-y humor, and delicious pie, this heartfelt middle grade read is perfect for fans of The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl. Includes illustrated charts, graphs, and diagrams throughout.
Event date: 
Wednesday, July 7, 2021 - 5:00pm
Event address: 
Virtual Event - Via Zoom
Pacific Standard Time
San Francisco, CA
............

One of Books Inc.’s favorite aspects of being booksellers is getting the chance to welcome and host hundreds of authors a year, from house-hold names to local, debut authors and we look forward to continuing to provide the Bay Area with “The Experience You Can’t Download” in our stores with traditional author talks and booksignings. In the meantime, we have an exciting list of virtual events and meet-and-greet booksignings on our calendar and we look forward welcoming you into this new format.

Sales equate success, and as with in-store events, booksales made from an independent bookstore benefit the author, publisher, and lead to future event bookings. Please help us keep the Bay Area the wonderful literary hub that it is by supporting your local Books Inc.