Children's Book Week Panel with JOY McCULLOUGH, JESSICA LAWSON & RAJANI LaROCCA

Children's Book Week: Red, White and Whole, Across the Pond book covers

*Please Note: Pre-registration via Eventbrite is required. Zoom information will be sent leading up to the event date.*

Join Books Inc. in celebrating Children’s Book Week with an amazing Middle Grade panel featuring Joy McCullough, author of the heartwarming novel Across the Pond; Jessica Lawson, author of the enchanting fantasy novel How to Save a Queendom; and Rajani LaRocca, author of the lyrical and inspirational novel Red, White, and Whole. This special event will be moderated by Books Inc.’s friend and book blogger, Colleen Ross! (Ages 8+)

 

About Across the PondFrom the author of A Field Guide to Getting Lost comes a heartwarming story about new beginnings, burgeoning friendships, and finding your flock.

Callie can't wait for her new life to start. After a major friendship breakup in San Diego, moving overseas to Scotland gives her the perfect chance to reinvent herself. On top of that, she's going to live in a real-life castle!
But as romantic as life in a castle sounds, the reality is a little less comfortable: it's run-down, freezing, and crawling with critters. Plus, starting off on the wrong foot with the gardener's granddaughter doesn't help her nerves about making new friends. So she comes up with the perfect solution: she'll be homeschooled. Her parents agree, on one condition: she has to participate in a social activity.
Inspired by a journal that she finds hidden in her bedroom, Callie decides to join a birding club. Sure, it sounds unusual, but at least it's not sports or performing. But when she clashes with the club leader, she risks losing a set of friends all over again. Will she ever be able to find her flock and make this strange new place feel like home?
 
About How to Save a QueendomFrom critically acclaimed author Jessica Lawson comes a whimsical fantasy about an orphaned twelve-year-old girl who is called upon to save her queendom when she finds a tiny wizard in her pocket.
Life's never been kind to twelve-year-old Stub. Orphaned and left in the care of the cruel Matron Tratte, Stub's learned that the best way to keep the peace is to do as she's told. No matter that she's bullied and that her only friend is her pet chicken, Peck, Stub's accepted the fact that her life just isn't made for adventure. Then she finds a tiny wizard in her pocket.
Orlen, the royal wizard to Maradon's queen, is magically bound to Stub. And it's up to her to ferry Orlen back to Maradon Cross, the country's capital, or else the delicate peace of the queendom will crumble under the power of an evil wizard queen. Suddenly Stub's unexciting life is chock-full of adventure. But how can one orphan girl possibly save the entire queendom?
 
About Red, White, and WholeA heartbreakingly hopeful #ownvoices novel in verse about an Indian American girl whose life is turned upside down when her mother is diagnosed with leukemia.
Reha feels torn between two worlds: school, where she's the only Indian American student, and home, with her family's traditions and holidays. But Reha's parents don't understand why she's conflicted--they only notice when Reha doesn't meet their strict expectations. Reha feels disconnected from her mother, or Amma, although their names are linked--Reha means "star" and Punam means "moon"--but they are a universe apart.
Then Reha finds out that her Amma is sick. Really sick.
Reha, who dreams of becoming a doctor even though she can't stomach the sight of blood, is determined to make her Amma well again. She'll be the perfect daughter, if it means saving her Amma's life.
From Indies Introduce author Rajani LaRocca comes a radiant story about the ties that bind and how to go on in the face of unthinkable loss. This is the perfect next read for fans of Jasmine Warga and Thanhhà Lại.
Event date: 
Saturday, May 8, 2021 - 3:00pm
Event address: 
San Francisco, CA
............

One of Books Inc.’s favorite aspects of being booksellers is getting the chance to welcome and host hundreds of authors a year, from house-hold names to local, debut authors and we are so excited to begin reintroducing the Bay Area with “The Experience You Can’t Download” in our stores with traditional author talks and booksignings. In addition to meet-and-greet author events and standard author talks, we are also continuting virtual author events.

Sales equate success, and as with in-store events, booksales made from an independent bookstore benefit the author, publisher, and lead to future event bookings. Please help us keep the Bay Area the wonderful literary hub that it is by supporting your local Books Inc.