0 Items $0.00

AUGUSTUS ROSE at Books Inc. Alameda

augustus rose photo and book cover

Author and screenwriter Augustus Rose reads from and discusses his critically-acclaimed debut novel, The Readymade Thief

Lee Cuddy is seventeen years old and on the run, alone on the streets of Philadelphia. 
After taking the fall for a rich friend, Lee reluctantly accepts refuge in the Crystal Castle--a cooperative of homeless kids squatting in an austere, derelict building. But homeless kids are disappearing from the streets in suspicious numbers, and Lee quickly discovers that the secret society's charitable facade is too good to be true. She finds an unexpected ally in Tomi, a young artist and hacker whose knowledge of the Internet's black market is rivaled only by his ability to break into and out of buildings. From abandoned aquariums to highly patrolled museums to the homes of vacationing Philadelphians, Tomi and Lee can always chart a way to the next, perfect hide-out. 
But the harder Lee tries to escape into the unmapped corners of the city, the closer she unwittingly gets to uncovering the disturbing agenda of the very men who pull the strings of the secret society she's hoped to elude, a group of fanatics obsessed with the secrets encoded in the work of early-twentieth-century artist Marcel Duchamp. What these men want is more twisted than anything Lee could've imagined, and they believe Lee holds the key to it all. 
The Readymade Thief heralds the arrival of an astoundingly imaginative and propulsive new voice in fiction for fans of Marisha Pessl and Ernest Cline. 

Event date: 
Friday, September 22, 2017 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
Books Inc.
1344 Park St
Alameda, CA
Event Terms: 
The Readymade Thief Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780735221833
Availability: In Stock Now - Click Title to See Store Inventory. Books must show IN STOCK at your desired location for same day pick-up.
Published: Viking - August 1st, 2017