AMANDA GLAZE & NINA LACOUR at Books Inc. Alameda

author images and cover photo

YA@Books Inc. and Books Inc. Alameda proudly presents author Amanda Glaze in celebration her debut YA fantasy The Second Death of Edie and Violet Bond, in conversation with friend and award-winning author Nina LaCour.


Travel beyond the veil in this thrilling and chilling supernatural debut with timely feminist themes, perfect for fans of Kerri Maniscalco--inspired by lives of real teenage twin mediums in the 19th century.

Sacramento, 1885

Edie and Violet Bond know the truth about death. The seventeen-year-old twins are powerful mediums, just like their mother--Violet can open the veil between life and death, and Edie can cross into the spirit world. But their abilities couldn't save them when their mother died and their father threatened to commit them to a notorious asylum.

Now runaways, Edie and Violet are part of a traveling Spiritualist show, a tight-knit group of young women who demonstrate their real talents under the guise of communing with spirits. Each night, actresses, poets, musicians, and orators all make contact with spirits who happen to have something to say. . . notions that young ladies could never openly express.

But when Violet's act goes terribly wrong one night, Edie learns that the dark spirit responsible for their mother's death has crossed into the land of the living. As they investigate the identity of her mysterious final client, they realize that someone is hunting mediums...and they may be next.Only by trusting in one another can the twins uncover a killer who will stop at nothing to cheat death.

 

"Quick, witty, and delightfully creative, THE SECOND DEATH OF EDIE AND VIOLET BOND is a sensation." --Elana K. Arnold, Printz Honor Award-winning author of Damsel                                 

"Eerily atmospheric, expertly paced, and with a luscious world you'll want to escape into, fans of The Night Circus will devour Violet and Edie's story just like I did. A stunning debut!" --Gretchen McNeil, author of Ten and #murdertrending

"Amanda Glaze's debut novel is that rarest of things: a vivid historical tinged with magic, a moving story about the bond between two sisters, a tense, romantic thriller, and a prescient, feminist exploration of the courage it takes for women to set themselves free." --Laura Ruby, Two-Time National Book Award Finalist and author of Bone Gap

The Second Death of Edie and Violet Bond is a magical, magnificent work of historical fiction. With pitch-perfect dialogue and a sharp eye for detail, Amanda Glaze beautifully brings 1880s Sacramento to life. This is a story I won't soon forget and a new voice you don't want to miss." --Brandy Colbert, award-winning author of Little & Lion

"The timely, gripping themes of sisterhood and fighting misogyny will resonate . . . . An impressive and eerie debut that will keep readers looking over their shoulders." -- Kirkus Reviews

 

Amanda Glaze grew up in Northern California where she spent most of her time in imaginary worlds. She received a bachelor's degree in theater from UCLA and an MFA in Creative Writing from Hamline University. She's lived many lives: as a bookseller, a theater director, and an Emmy award-winning film and tv producer. When she's not running off to the mountains, she lives in Los Angeles with her partner where she can most often be found cuddled up with a cat dreaming up ways to bring more magic into the world. The Second Death of Edie and Violet Bond is her debut novel. You can visit her at amandaglaze.com.

Nina LaCour is the award-winning and bestselling author of several novels for young adults, including We Are Okay, a Printz Award winner and national bestseller. She lives in San Francisco with her wife and daughter. Yerba Buena is her first novel for adults

Event date: 
Thursday, October 6, 2022 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
Books Inc.
1344 Park St
Alameda, CA 94501
............
Books: 
Pre-Order Now Badge
The Second Death of Edie and Violet Bond By Amanda Glaze Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781454946786
Availability: Coming Soon - AVAILABLE FOR PRE-ORDER
Published: Union Square & Co. - October 4th, 2022

One of Books Inc.’s favorite aspects of being booksellers is getting the chance to welcome and host hundreds of authors a year, from house-hold names to local, debut authors and we are so excited to begin reintroducing the Bay Area with “The Experience You Can’t Download” in our stores with traditional author talks and booksignings. In addition to meet-and-greet author events and standard author talks, we are also continuting virtual author events.

Sales equate success, and as with in-store events, booksales made from an independent bookstore benefit the author, publisher, and lead to future event bookings. Please help us keep the Bay Area the wonderful literary hub that it is by supporting your local Books Inc.