Ultraviolet (Kobo eBook)

Ultraviolet By Aida Salazar Cover Image
$11.99
Available Now

Description


Sometimes life explodes in technicolor.

In the spirit of Judy Blume, award-winning author Aida Salazar tells it like it is about puberty, hormones, and first love in this hilarious, heartwarming, and highly relatable coming-of-age story. Perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds, Kwame Alexander, and Adib Khorram.

* "Stunning...A story that sings to the soul." -Kirkus Reviews, starred review

* "A compassionate verse novel about first love, heartbreak, and vulnerability. " -Publishers Weekly, starred review

* "Salazar writes from a place of abundant empathy. . . . Another heartfelt and accessible tale of growing up from one of the best in modern children's literature." -School Library Journal, starred review

For Elio Solis, eighth grade fizzes with change-His body teeming with hormones. His feelings that flow like lava. His relationship with Pops, who's always telling him to man up, the Solis way. And especially Camelia, his first girlfriend.

But then, betrayal and heartbreak send Elio spiraling toward revenge, a fight to prove his manhood, and defend Camelia's honor. He doesn't anticipate the dire consequences-or that Camelia's not looking for a savior.

Ultraviolet digs deep into themes of consent, puberty, masculinity, and the emotional lives of boys, as it challenges stereotypes and offers another way to be in the world.

Product Details
ISBN-13: 9781339027432
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Publication Date: April 1st, 2024
Language: