0 Items $0.00

Peninsula Events

GENE LUEN YANG at Books Inc. Mountain View

Author and illustrator of American Born Chinese, the first graphic novel to be nominated for a National Book Award and the first to win the American Library Association’s Printz Award; winner of the Eisner Award for his collaborative project, The Eternal Smile; and creator of the popular Nickelodeon series, Avatar: The Last Airbender, the über talented Gene Luen Yang shares his latest gorgeous, funny comics adventure for teens, The Shadow Hero.

About The Shadow Hero: In the comics boom of the 1940s, a legend was born: the Green Turtle. He solved crimes and fought injustice just like the other comics characters. But this mysterious masked crusader was hiding something more than your run-of-the-mill secret identity... The Green Turtle was the first Asian American super hero.

The comic had a short run before lapsing into obscurity, but the acclaimed author of "American Born Chinese," Gene Luen Yang, has finally revived this character in "Shadow Hero," a new graphic novel that creates an origin story for the Green Turtle.

With artwork by Sonny Liew, this gorgeous, funny comics adventure for teens is a new spin on the long, rich tradition of American comics lore.

Click here to watch the awesome animated trailer for The Shadow Hero!

Click here to read Gene's interview with Shelf Awareness!

 

 

Staff Pick Badge
The Shadow Hero Cover Image
By Gene Luen Yang, Sonny Liew (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781596436978
Availability: In Stock Now - Click Title to See Store Inventory. Please allow up to 48-hours for Curbside Pickup orders to be processed.
Published: First Second - July 15th, 2014

NICK POPE at Books Inc. Mountain View

Author, journalist and TV personality, former head of the British Government's UFO project at the Ministry of Defence, international bestselling author, and one of the world's leading experts on UFOs, the unexplained and conspiracy theories, Nick Pope shares the full-story behind the Rendlesham Forest UFO Incident of 1980--which is set to become better-known than Roswell--with his engrossing exposé, Encounter in Rendlesham Forest.

Encounter in Rendlesham Forest: The Inside Story of the World's Best-Documented UFO Incident Cover Image
This Book Is Not Sold Online - Inquire In Store
ISBN: 9781250038104
Availability: Out of Print
Published: Thomas Dunne Books - April 15th, 2014

GREGG HURWITZ at Books Inc. Palo Alto

New York Times-bestselling author of thirteen thrillers and creator of bestselling stories for Marvel (Wolverine, Punisher) and DC (Batman, Penguin), Gregg Hurwitz shares the suspenseful standalone novel, Don't Look Back. Dubbed "not to be missed" by bestselling author James Rollins, Gregg's latest is an addictively exhilarating thrill ride through the jungles and mountains of Oaxaca, Mexico with a dangerous predator who will stop at nothing to protect a terrifying secret.

Don't Look Back: A Novel Cover Image
This Book Is Not Sold Online - Inquire In Store
ISBN: 9780312626839
Availability: Out of Print
Published: St. Martin's Press - August 19th, 2014

SUSAN ROANE at Books Inc. Mountain View

Improve your communication and socialization skills with professional keynote speaker, Susan RoAne and the 25th Anniversary Edition of How to Work a Room: The Ultimate Guide to Making Lasting Connections--In Person and Online. With 1000+ keynote speeches given, appearances on numerous media networks--including CNN, NPR, and CNBC--and features in the Wall Street Journal and Investors Business Daily, among others, Susan's savvy socializing techniques are sure to boost your business growth with successful meetings!

 

How to Work a Room, 25th Anniversary Edition: The Ultimate Guide to Making Lasting Connections--In Person and Online Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062295347
Availability: In Stock Now - Click Title to See Store Inventory. Please allow up to 48-hours for Curbside Pickup orders to be processed.
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - December 31st, 2013

ANDREW MACRAE at Books Inc. Mountain View

Local author Andrew MacRae shares the sequel to Murder Misdirected, Murder Miscalculated. Gregory Smith thought he was through with his life as a master pickpocket until an overly ambitious federal agent coerces him into returning to the street as The Kid - or else. As a reluctant crook once again, Greg has to keep one step ahead of the law, a gang of thugs, and a tenacious hit man.
Murder Miscalculated Cover Image
This Book Is Not Sold Online - Inquire In Store
ISBN: 9780991362820
Availability: Not In Stock/Special Order
Published: Mainly Murder Press - May 15th, 2014

Murder Misdirected Cover Image
This Book Is Not Sold Online - Inquire In Store
ISBN: 9780983682363
Availability: Not In Stock/Special Order
Published: Mainly Murder Press - June 1st, 2012

HOWTOONS ACTIVITY DAY at Books Inc. Palo Alto!

Head to Books Inc. Palo Alto for a day of inventive activities in celebration of the latest installment in the educational and entertaining Howtoons series, Howtoons: Tools of Mass Construction. Contributors Saul Griffith, Nick Dragotta, and Ingrid Dragotta will be on hand to lead a “build it” session, which includes a helpful slideshow, and they are kindly suppying the items needed for your little one to create their very own toy!

About the contributors:

Saul Griffith is a recipient of the MacArthur Foundation “genius grant,” winner of several awards--including the National Inventors Hall of Fame Award--and a technical advisor and regular contributor to Make magazine and Popular Mechanics.

Ingrid Dragotta is the Co-Owner and Lead Designer of Howtoons and previous kids’ shoe designer for New Balance, as well as a toy designer for Hasbro.

Nick Dragotta is the artist and co-creator, along with writer Jonathan Hickman, of the breakout Image comic of  2013, East of West. Nick has also worked on the landmark run of X-Statix with Peter Milligan and many other of the top Marvel characters such as Captain America, Spider-Man, the X-Men and others.

Click here for more information about Howtoons! 

Howtoons: Tools of Mass Construction Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781632151018
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Image Comics - August 5th, 2014

MIMI REAL & BOB GABRINER at Books Inc. Mountain View

Civil Rights activists Mimi Real and Bob Gabriner discuss Risking Everything: A Freedom Summer Reader. Documenting the 1964 Freedom Summer project--when 60,000+ black Mississippians risked everything to join SNCC and CORE workers and volunteers in Mississippi to challenge segregation--Risking Everything shares 44 original documents which takes readers through this powerful time in history, from letters to meeting agendas and discussions, this collection is a testimony to the suffering and courage of these American heroes.

 

Risking Everything: A Freedom Summer Reader Cover Image
This Book Is Not Sold Online - Inquire In Store
ISBN: 9780870206788
Availability: Not In Stock/Special Order
Published: Wisconsin Historical Society Press - May 30th, 2014

Launch Party with M.P. COOLEY at Books Inc. Mountain View!

Join Books Inc. Mt. View for a launch party celebrating M.P. Cooley's much-buzzed debut thriller--which is perfect for fans of Gone Girl, Breaking Bad, and Sons of Anarchy--Ice Shear. Set in the rust belt of New York, Cooley's chilling work tells the story of widowed FBI agent June Lyons and her new job with the local police department in her hometown. When June discovers a body impaled on an ice shear in the frozen Mohawk River, the investigation unmasks a sordid maze of politics, drugs, and an outlaw motorcycle gang, and June finds that still waters run deep in this small town.

 

Ice Shear: A Novel (The June Lyons Series #1) Cover Image
This Book Is Not Sold Online - Inquire In Store
ISBN: 9780062300706
Availability: Not In Stock/Special Order
Published: William Morrow - July 22nd, 2014

DEBORAH HARKNESS at Books Inc. Palo Alto

#1 New York Times-bestselling author Deborah Harkness shares the highly anticipated final book in her All Souls Trilogy, The Book of Life. With more than one million copies sold in the United States and appearing in thirty-eight foreign editions, A Discovery of Witches and Shadow of Night have landed on all of the major bestseller lists and garnered rave reviews from countless publications. Eagerly awaited by Harkness's legion of fans, The Book of Life brings this superbly written series to a deeply satisfying close.

This is going to be huge! Books Inc. Palo Alto is proud to welcome Deborah Harkness on July 29th at 7PM! We've been fans of Deb since before the beginning and are pleased to bring her back to conclude the All-Souls Trilogy with her new book The Book of Life.

Please note, while this is not a ticketed event, priority in the signing line will be given to those who have a Books Inc receipt for THE BOOK OF LIFE, so if you purchase the book from us before the event, hang on to the receipt! There is currently no limit to the number of books she will sign. If you don't want to stand in line at the end of the evening, we should have some presigned stock for the event.

 

The Book of Life: A Novel (All Souls Series #3) Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780670025596
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Viking - July 15th, 2014

Shadow of Night: A Novel (All Souls Series #2) Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780143123620
Availability: In Stock Now - Click Title to See Store Inventory. Please allow up to 48-hours for Curbside Pickup orders to be processed.
Published: Penguin Books - May 28th, 2013

A Discovery of Witches: A Novel (All Souls Series #1) Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780143119685
Availability: In Stock Now - Click Title to See Store Inventory. Please allow up to 48-hours for Curbside Pickup orders to be processed.
Published: Penguin Books - December 27th, 2011

Pages