0 Items $0.00

Peninsula Events

ANDREW MACRAE at Books Inc. Mountain View

Share this
Local author Andrew MacRae shares the sequel to Murder Misdirected, Murder Miscalculated. Gregory Smith thought he was through with his life as a master pickpocket until an overly ambitious federal agent coerces him into returning to the street as The Kid - or else. As a reluctant crook once again, Greg has to keep one step ahead of the law, a gang of thugs, and a tenacious hit man.
Murder Miscalculated Cover Image
This Book Is Not Sold Online - Inquire In Store
ISBN: 9780991362820
Availability: Not In Stock/Special Order
Published: Mainly Murder Press - May 15th, 2014

Murder Misdirected Cover Image
This Book Is Not Sold Online - Inquire In Store
ISBN: 9780983682363
Availability: Not In Stock/Special Order
Published: Mainly Murder Press - June 1st, 2012

HOWTOONS ACTIVITY DAY at Books Inc. Palo Alto!

Share this

Head to Books Inc. Palo Alto for a day of inventive activities in celebration of the latest installment in the educational and entertaining Howtoons series, Howtoons: Tools of Mass Construction. Contributors Saul Griffith, Nick Dragotta, and Ingrid Dragotta will be on hand to lead a “build it” session, which includes a helpful slideshow, and they are kindly suppying the items needed for your little one to create their very own toy!

About the contributors:

Saul Griffith is a recipient of the MacArthur Foundation “genius grant,” winner of several awards--including the National Inventors Hall of Fame Award--and a technical advisor and regular contributor to Make magazine and Popular Mechanics.

Ingrid Dragotta is the Co-Owner and Lead Designer of Howtoons and previous kids’ shoe designer for New Balance, as well as a toy designer for Hasbro.

Nick Dragotta is the artist and co-creator, along with writer Jonathan Hickman, of the breakout Image comic of  2013, East of West. Nick has also worked on the landmark run of X-Statix with Peter Milligan and many other of the top Marvel characters such as Captain America, Spider-Man, the X-Men and others.

Click here for more information about Howtoons! 

Howtoons: Tools of Mass Construction Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781632151018
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Image Comics - August 5th, 2014

MIMI REAL & BOB GABRINER at Books Inc. Mountain View

Share this

Civil Rights activists Mimi Real and Bob Gabriner discuss Risking Everything: A Freedom Summer Reader. Documenting the 1964 Freedom Summer project--when 60,000+ black Mississippians risked everything to join SNCC and CORE workers and volunteers in Mississippi to challenge segregation--Risking Everything shares 44 original documents which takes readers through this powerful time in history, from letters to meeting agendas and discussions, this collection is a testimony to the suffering and courage of these American heroes.

 

Risking Everything: A Freedom Summer Reader Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9780870206788
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Wisconsin Historical Society Press - May 30th, 2014

Launch Party with M.P. COOLEY at Books Inc. Mountain View!

Share this

Join Books Inc. Mt. View for a launch party celebrating M.P. Cooley's much-buzzed debut thriller--which is perfect for fans of Gone Girl, Breaking Bad, and Sons of Anarchy--Ice Shear. Set in the rust belt of New York, Cooley's chilling work tells the story of widowed FBI agent June Lyons and her new job with the local police department in her hometown. When June discovers a body impaled on an ice shear in the frozen Mohawk River, the investigation unmasks a sordid maze of politics, drugs, and an outlaw motorcycle gang, and June finds that still waters run deep in this small town.

 

Ice Shear: A Novel (The June Lyons Series #1) Cover Image
This Book Is Not Sold Online - Inquire In Store
ISBN: 9780062300706
Availability: Not In Stock/Special Order
Published: William Morrow - July 22nd, 2014

DEBORAH HARKNESS at Books Inc. Palo Alto

Share this

#1 New York Times-bestselling author Deborah Harkness shares the highly anticipated final book in her All Souls Trilogy, The Book of Life. With more than one million copies sold in the United States and appearing in thirty-eight foreign editions, A Discovery of Witches and Shadow of Night have landed on all of the major bestseller lists and garnered rave reviews from countless publications. Eagerly awaited by Harkness's legion of fans, The Book of Life brings this superbly written series to a deeply satisfying close.

This is going to be huge! Books Inc. Palo Alto is proud to welcome Deborah Harkness on July 29th at 7PM! We've been fans of Deb since before the beginning and are pleased to bring her back to conclude the All-Souls Trilogy with her new book The Book of Life.

Please note, while this is not a ticketed event, priority in the signing line will be given to those who have a Books Inc receipt for THE BOOK OF LIFE, so if you purchase the book from us before the event, hang on to the receipt! There is currently no limit to the number of books she will sign. If you don't want to stand in line at the end of the evening, we should have some presigned stock for the event.

 

The Book of Life: A Novel (All Souls Trilogy #3) Cover Image
$28.95
ISBN: 9780670025596
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Viking - July 15th, 2014

Shadow of Night: A Novel (All Souls Trilogy) Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780143123620
Availability: In Stock Now - Click Title to See Store Inventory. Books must show IN STOCK at your desired location for same day pick-up.
Published: Penguin Books - May 28th, 2013

A Discovery of Witches: A Novel (All Souls Trilogy) Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780143119685
Availability: In Stock Now - Click Title to See Store Inventory. Books must show IN STOCK at your desired location for same day pick-up.
Published: Penguin Books - December 27th, 2011

The Burlingame Library presents JOJO MOYES

Share this

International and New York Times-bestselling author Jojo Moyes shares her latest Booklist Starred novel, One Plus One. Dubbed "A hilarious, heartbreaking, riveting novel . . . I will stake my reputation on this book" by Anne Lamott, and with rave reviews from O, The Oprah Magazine, The New York Times Book Review, USA Today, the San Francisco Chronicle, and many more, One Plus One is Jojo at her astounding best, and confirms her place among the greats of contemporary literature.

For more information visit: http://www.burlingame.org/index.aspx?page=32

One Plus One: A Novel Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9780525426585
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Pamela Dorman Books - July 1st, 2014

ERIKA JOHANSEN at Books Inc. Mountain View

Share this
Local author Erika Johansen shares her epic debut--which is the first work in a magical, adventurous, and romantic series--The Queen of the Tearling. On her nineteenth birthday, Princess Kelsea Raleigh Glynn, raised in exile, sets out on a perilous journey back to the castle of her birth to ascend her rightful throne. With a Starred Review from Booklist, and called a "gripping read" by bestselling author Bernard Cornwell, fans of fantasy adventure are in for a treat with the beginning of this impressive debut.
The Queen of the Tearling: A Novel (Queen of the Tearling, The #1) Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062290366
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper - July 8th, 2014

The Peninsula Parlour presents KAREN RIZZO at Books Inc. Palo Alto

Share this

The Peninsula Parlour presents accomplished playwright and award-winning essayist--with pieces heard on NPR and featured in the Los Angeles Times, among others--Karen Rizzo discussing Famous Baby; a wise and hilarious novel which reflects on mother love, identity, and the hazards of parental over-sharing in this cyber-obsessed age. Karen will be in conversation with Lisen Stromberg. A portion of this evening's sales will benefit Abitlites United.

Click here to watch the book trailer for Famous Baby!

Famous Baby Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9781938849305
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Prospect Park Books - July 8th, 2014

KIM STOLZ at Books Inc. Mountain View

Share this
A top five finalist on America's Next Top Model, Cycle 5, former MTV News correspondent, and current New York-based restaurateur and Vice President of Equity Derivatives sales at Citigroup, renaissance woman extraordinaire Kim Stolz shares her incisive, hilarious, and brutally honest memoir about life online and how our obsessive connectivity is making us more disconnected, Unfriending My Ex: And Other Things I'll Never Do.
Unfriending My Ex: And Other Things I'll Never Do Cover Image
This Book Is Not Sold Online - Inquire In Store
ISBN: 9781476761787
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Scribner Book Company - June 24th, 2014

Pages