0 Items $0.00

Peninsula Events

TANIA MALIK at Books Inc. Mountain View

Local author Tania Malik shares her debut novel, Three Bargains. With a Starred Review from Publishers Weekly, this epic rags-to-riches story is perfect for fans of The Kite Runner and Slumdog Millionaire, and tells a powerful tale of fathers and sons, the ties that bind, and the barriers of class that even love cannot break.

 

Three Bargains Cover Image
This Book Is Not Sold Online - Inquire In Store
ISBN: 9780393063400
Availability: Not In Stock/Special Order
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - August 11th, 2014

*CANCELLED* IAN BURUMA at Books Inc. Palo Alto

Voted one of the Top 100 Public Intellectuals by the Foreign Policy/Prospect magazines in 2008 and 2010, historian and Erasmus Prize-winning journalist Ian Buruma shares Year Zero: A History of 1945. A work of enormous range and stirring human drama, conjuring both the Asian and European theaters with equal fluency, Year Zero is a book that Ian Buruma is perhaps uniquely positioned to write. It is surely his masterpiece.

This event has unfortunately been cancelled. Our apologies for any inconvenience this may cause.

Year Zero: A History of 1945 Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143125976
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Books - September 30th, 2014

Star Wars Reads Day with CHRIS TAYLOR at Books Inc. Mountain View

Books Inc. Mountain View celebrates Star Wars Reads Day 2014 with deputy editor of "Mashable," the world's largest social media and technology news website, Chris Taylor and How Star Wars Conquered the Universe: The Past, Present, and Future of a Multibillion Dollar Franchise. "The first book to examine the entire Star Wars brand from a business/culture perspective," this colorful and energetic book examines explains how a young filmmaker's fragile dream beat out a surprising number of rivals to gain a diehard, multigenerational fan base.

 

Staff Pick Logo
How Star Wars Conquered the Universe: The Past, Present, and Future of a Multibillion Dollar Franchise Cover Image
This Book Is Not Sold Online - Inquire In Store
ISBN: 9780465089987
Availability: Out of Print
Published: Basic Books (AZ) - September 30th, 2014

Storytime Launch Party with KATHERINE ROY at Books Inc. Mountain View

Books Inc. Mountain View presents a very special Storytime Launch Party with author-illustrator Katherine Roy and her up-close look at the ocean's most fearsome and famous predator and the scientists who study them, Neighborhood Sharks: Hunting with the Great Whites of California's Farallon Islands.  

A few miles from San Francisco lives a population of the ocean's largest and most famous predators. Each fall, while the city's inhabitants dine on steaks, salads, and sandwiches, the great white sharks return to California's Farallon Islands to dine on their favorite meal: the seals that live on the island's rocky coasts. Massive, fast, and perfectly adapted to hunting after 11 million years of evolution, the great whites are among the planet's most fearsome, fascinating, and least understood animals. In the fall of 2012, Katherine Roy visited the Farallons with the scientists who study the islands' shark population. She witnessed seal attacks, observed sharks being tagged in the wild, and got an up close look at the dramatic Farallons--a wildlife refuge that is strictly off-limits to all but the scientists who work there. Neighborhood Sharks is an intimate portrait of the life cycle, biology, and habitat of the great white shark, based on the latest research and an up-close visit with these amazing animals.

 

Neighborhood Sharks: Hunting with the Great Whites of California's Farallon Islands Cover Image
By Katherine Roy, Katherine Roy (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781596438743
Availability: In Stock Now - Click Title to See Store Inventory. Books must show IN STOCK at your desired location for same day pick-up.
Published: David Macaulay Studio - September 30th, 2014

Family Craft Time with SOPHIE MALETSKY at Books Inc. Burlingame

Founder of the ever-helpful children's party and event planning business, Sophie's Stress Free Soirées, regular blogger for Ganz Parent Club, actor, musician, visual artist, and contributing expert on eHow's new Mom Channel, Sophie Maletsky shares Sticky Fingers: DIY Duct Tape Projects - Easy to Pick Up, Hard to Put Down.  

Sticky Fingers is a vibrant, easy-to-follow, step-by-step guide to creating amazing projects with the hottest crafting material on the market today--duct tape! The book includes tons of photographs alongside directions designed to make creating a wallet and making a bag even easier, while also providing a steady stream of ideas for personalizing and embellishing your duct tape creations. Each project includes icons showing difficulty level and project time, as well as helpful hints, such as how to keep your scissors clean and what to do with end pieces. So grab a roll of duct tape, pick a project, and get started!

 

Join us for a fun-filled family activity day with Sophie and create your very own duct tape creation! Materials for crafting will kindly be provided by Sophie.

Sticky Fingers: DIY Duct Tape Projects - Easy to Pick Up, Hard to Put Down Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781936976546
Availability: Backordered-Could Take 2-4Weeks
Published: Zest Books - July 1st, 2014

ALI ETERAZ at Books Inc. Mountain View

A member of the San Francisco Writer's Grotto, author of the award-winning memoir Children of Dust, and with articles appearing in Foreign Policy and The Huffington Post--among others--Ali Eteraz shares his sensual and surrealist short story collection, Falsipedies and Fibsiennes. Ranging from the Persian Gulf to the American South, from ancient Greece to pre-Islamic Arabia, these stories will unsettle and surprise readers with their tenderness.

Falsipedies and Fibsiennes (Essential Prose #106) Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9781550718829
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Guernica Editions - September 1st, 2014

ANN GELDER at Books Inc. Palo Alto

A previous professor of Comparative Literature at Stanford University and UC Berkeley with writing appearing in several publications, including The Rumpus and Tin House, Ann Gelder shares her debut novel, Bigfoot and the Baby. A delightful black satire which examines the interplay of capitalism and religion in 1980s America, Ann's debut is for anyone who seeks to explore life’s mysteries with wit and wild humor.

*Due to unforeseen circumstances, Harriet Chessman will unfortunately not be participating in this event with Ann as originally scheduled.

 

Bigfoot and the Baby Cover Image
This Book Is Not Sold Online - Inquire In Store
ISBN: 9781936511440
Availability: Not In Stock/Special Order
Published: Bona Fide Books - June 13th, 2014

PSEUDONYMOUS BOSCH at Books Inc. Palo Alto

Books Inc. Palo Alto proudly presents Pseudonymous Bosch, author of the bestselling Secret Series, discussing the first book in his exciting new mystery trilogy, Bad Magic. Thirteen-year-old Clay, a boy who no longer believes in magic, is blamed for the graffiti on his classroom wall. As punishment, he's sent to Earth Ranch, a camp for "troubled" kids on a remote volcanic island where magic is the last thing Clay expects to find.

 

Staff Pick Logo
Bad Magic (The Bad Books #1) Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780316320382
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 16th, 2014

SUKEY FORBES at Books Inc. Palo Alto

Sukey Forbes shares her moving and utterly unique tale of one mother's undying love for her child, The Angel in My Pocket: A Story of Love, Loss, and Life After Death. With a mission to help others by sharing her own story of the sudden loss of her six-year-old daughter, Charlotte, Forbes chronicles a world of ghosts that reawakens readers to a lost American spiritual tradition, and explores her rich family heritage--which includes her great-great-great-grandfather, Transcendentalist Ralph Waldo Emerson.

 

The Angel in My Pocket: A Story of Love, Loss, and Life After Death Cover Image
This Book Is Not Sold Online - Inquire In Store
ISBN: 9780670026319
Availability: Not In Stock/Special Order
Published: Viking Books - July 3rd, 2014

MEGAN O'KEEFE at Books Inc. Palo Alto

A 2014 First Place winner of the L. Ron Hubbard Award, Megan O'Keefe shares the 30th Volume of the anthology L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future: The Best New Science Fiction and Fantasy of the Year, which features her prize-winning story, Another Range of Mountains. Featuring works by twelve writers and twelve illustrators selected by the biggest-name authors and the biggest-name artists in the field, this legendary series showcases a talented group of names to watch!

 

Writers of the Future Volume 30: The Best New Science Fiction and Fantasy of the Year (L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future #30) Cover Image
This Book Is Not Sold Online - Inquire In Store
ISBN: 9781619862654
Availability: Not In Stock/Special Order
Published: Galaxy Press (CA) - May 6th, 2014

Pages