0 Items $0.00

Not Your Mother's Book Club

NYMBC Presents RACHEL HARTMAN at Books Inc. Palo Alto

Not Your Mother's Book Club™ celebrates the paperback release of Seraphina with author Rachel Hartman. With a place on so many "Best Of" lists we couldn't possibly fit them all in this space, and called "Beautifully written" by Christopher Paolini, author of Eragon, this New York Times bestseller with 8 starred reviews is not to be missed!

Seraphina (Seraphina Series) Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9780375866227
Availability: In Stock Now - Click Title to See Store Inventory. Books must show IN STOCK at your desired location for same day pick-up.
Published: Ember - December 23rd, 2014

NYMBC presents JOELLE CHARBONNEAU at Books Inc. Opera Plaza

Not Your Mother's Book Club™ presents New York Times-bestselling author Joelle Charbonneau in celebration of the paperback release of book one in her exhilarating dystopian series, The Testing. Currently in development by Paramount Pictures, Joelle's trilogy is perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent.

 

The Testing Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780544336230
Availability: In Stock Now - Click Title to See Store Inventory. Books must show IN STOCK at your desired location for same day pick-up.
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - January 6th, 2015

Independent Study: The Testing, Book 2 Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780547959207
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - January 7th, 2014

Graduation Day (The Testing #3) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780547959214
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - June 17th, 2014

NYMBC presents JENNIFER NIVEN at Books Inc. Palo Alto

Not Your Mother's Book Club™ presents author, director and contributor to Germ Magazine, and Emmy Award-winning screenwriter Jennifer Niven in celebration of her YA debut, All the Bright Places.

All the Bright Places Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780385755887
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - January 6th, 2015

NYMBC Launch Party with KATIE COYLE at Books Inc. Opera Plaza

Not Your Mother's Book Club™ celebrates the launch of Katie Coyle's debut novel, Vivian Apple at the End of the World. With Starred Reviews from Booklist, Publisher's Weekly, and Kirkus Reviews, Katie's debut is a skillyfully crafted tale of the search for truth, perfectly set in the midst of the apocalpyse. 

Vivian Apple at the End of the World Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780544340114
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - January 6th, 2015

NYMBC presents a Launch Party w/SARA FARIZAN at Books Inc. in The Castro!

Not Your Mother’s Book Club™ celebrates the launch of 2014 Lambda Literary Award-winner (If You Could Be Mine) Sara Farizan's latest work, Tell Me Again How a Crush Should Feel.

Both personal and universal, this is a compelling story about high school, family and owning up to who you really are. Farizan is just the voice YA needs right now. Trust me, you'll be glad you listened. --Sarah Dessen

High-school junior Leila has made it most of the way through Armstead Academy without having a crush on anyone, which is something of a relief. Her Persian heritage already makes her different from her classmates; if word got out that she liked girls, life would be twice as hard. But when a sophisticated, beautiful new girl, Saskia, shows up, Leila starts to take risks she never thought she would, especially when it looks as if the attraction between them is mutual. Struggling to sort out her growing feelings and Saskia s confusing signals, Leila confides in her old friend, Lisa, and grows closer to her fellow drama tech-crew members, especially Tomas, whose comments about his own sexuality are frank, funny, wise, and sometimes painful. Gradually, Leila begins to see that almost all her classmates are more complicated than they first appear to be, and many are keeping fascinating secrets of their own.

 

Staff Pick Logo
Tell Me Again How a Crush Should Feel: A Novel Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781616202842
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - October 7th, 2014

NaNoWriMo and Books Inc. Present SCOTT WESTERFELD at Books Inc. Opera Plaza

Tickets for this event are no longer available online. But fear not! All you need to gain admission to this event is head to Books Inc. Opera Plaza and purchase a copy of Afterworlds.

 

New York Times Bestselling author, Scott Westerfeld, will be in conversation about craft, NaNoWriMo, and his new young adult novel, AFTERWORLDS.

Your ticket guarantees you a copy of AFTERWORLDS and a place in the signing line. 15% of all ticket sales will go to benefit NaNoWriMo, whose organization you can learn more about here: http://nanowrimo.org/

 

If you would like to attend the October 22nd event with Mr. Westerfeld, purchase your tickets through the Brown Paper Tickets button (includes a copy of the book).

If you're unable to attend the event, but would like a signed copy, please place your order and enter "signed copy" in the comments field. The signed book will ship on October 23rd.

If you would like an unsigned copy of the book, please place your order and enter "ship immediately" in the comments field. The book will ship for the September 23rd publication date.

Any questions? Please call our Opera Plaza store (415)776-1111 

Staff Pick Logo
Afterworlds Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781481422345
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon Pulse - September 23rd, 2014

Liar Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781599905198
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bloomsbury USA Childrens - December 21st, 2010

NYMBC presents JANDY NELSON at Books Inc. Opera Plaza

Named a 2011 Young Adult Library Services Association "Best Fiction for Young Adults pick" for her debut novel, The Sky is Everywhere, Not Your Mother's Book Club™ proudly presents presents highly acclaimed author Jandy Nelson sharing her latest masterpiece, I'll Give You the Sun. With rave reviews by the likes of New York Times-bestselling authors Ransom Riggs and Tahereh Mafi, I'll Give You the Sun is a radiant novel which will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.

 

Staff Pick Logo
I'll Give You the Sun Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780803734968
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dial Books - September 16th, 2014

If you would like to purchase a signed copy of I’ll Give You The Sun, please ENTER “SIGNED COPY” in the comments field of your order.The book will ship after our event with the author on September 19th.

If you would like an unsigned copy of I’ll Give You The Sun, we’ll ship it to you for the publication date, September 16th.

Jandy Nelson will be happy to personalize and sign preorder copies of I’ll Give You The Sun. Please enter your request in the comments field of your order.


NYMBC Presents STEPHANIE PERKINS w/NINA LACOUR at Books Inc. Opera Plaza

Not Your Mother's Book Club Presents

Internationally bestselling author Stephanie Perkins returns with the much-anticipated ISLA AND THE HAPPILY EVER AFTER ,the last in her loose tryptich of Anna and the French Kiss and Lola and the Boy Next Door. Featuring cameos from fan-favorites Anna, Étienne, Lola, and Cricket, this sweet and sexy story of true love—set against the stunning backdrops of New York City, Paris, and Barcelona—is a swoonworthy conclusion to a beloved series.

Stephanie will be in conversation with award-winning writer Nina LaCour, author of Everything Leads to You.

 

 

Staff Pick Logo
Isla and the Happily Ever After Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780525425632
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dutton Books for Young Readers - August 14th, 2014

Anna and the French Kiss Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780142419403
Availability: In Stock Now - Click Title to See Store Inventory. Books must show IN STOCK at your desired location for same day pick-up.
Published: Speak - August 4th, 2011

Lola and the Boy Next Door Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780142422014
Availability: In Stock Now - Click Title to See Store Inventory. Books must show IN STOCK at your desired location for same day pick-up.
Published: Speak - July 9th, 2013

Staff Pick Logo
Everything Leads to You Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780525425885
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dutton Books for Young Readers - May 15th, 2014

NYMBC Presents GRETCHEN MCNEIL, ANNA CAREY & CATHERINE LINKA at Books Inc. Opera Plaza

Not Your Mother’s Book Club™ presents a Night of Mysteries & Missing Memories

Acclaimed author and founding member of the vlog group the YA Rebels, Gretchen McNeil, shares her latest witty and suspenseful novel about four disparate girls who join forces to take revenge on high school bullies, Get Even. Author of the Eve trilogy, Anna Carey, shares her latest pulse-pounding contemporary thriller Blackbird. Hailed as "tense, taut, and deliciously disorienting” by New York Times-bestselling author of The 100, Kass Morgan, Anna’s latest is the breathless story of a girl racing to figure out who she is--and how to stay alive. And Catherine Linka shares her gripping debut novel, A Girl Called Fearless; after a synthetic hormone in beef kils fifty million American women, seventeen-year-old Avie struggles for a normal life in a world where teenage girls are a valuable commodity, but when her father contracts her to marry a rich, older man, Avie decides to run away with her childhood friend and revolutionary, Yates.

Get Even (Don't Get Mad) Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780062260857
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Balzer + Bray - September 16th, 2014

Blackbird Cover Image
This Book Is Not Sold Online - Inquire In Store
ISBN: 9780062299734
Availability: Not In Stock/Special Order
Published: HarperTeen - September 16th, 2014

Staff Pick Logo
A Girl Called Fearless: A Novel (The Girl Called Fearless Series #1) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250039293
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - May 6th, 2014

Pages