0 Items $0.00

Book Clubs

The WILD GIRLS MOTHER-DAUGHTER BOOK CLUB at Books Inc. Laurel Village via ZOOM

The WILD GIRLS MOTHER-DAUGHTER BOOK CLUB (Ages 9-12) will discuss The Sea in Winter by Christine Day.

The Sea in Winter Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062872043
Availability: In Stock Now - Click Title to See Store Inventory. Please allow up to 48-hours for Curbside Pickup orders to be processed.
Published: Heartdrum - January 5th, 2021

February 2021 Selection:  In this evocative and heartwarming novel for readers who loved The Thing About Jellyfish, the author of I Can Make This Promise tells the story of a Native American girl struggling to find her joy again.

It's been a hard year for Maisie Cannon, ever since she hurt her leg and could not keep up with her ballet training and auditions.

Her blended family is loving and supportive, but Maisie knows that they just can't understand how hopeless she feels. With everything she's dealing with, Maisie is not excited for their family midwinter road trip along the coast, near the Makah community where her mother grew up.

But soon, Maisie's anxieties and dark moods start to hurt as much as the pain in her knee. How can she keep pretending to be strong when on the inside she feels as roiling and cold as the ocean?


The WILD GIRLS MOTHER-DAUGHTER BOOK CLUB via ZOOM

The WILD GIRLS MOTHER-DAUGHTER BOOK CLUB (Ages 9-12) will discuss One Time by Sharon Creech.

One Time Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062570741
Availability: In Stock Now - Click Title to See Store Inventory. Please allow up to 48-hours for Curbside Pickup orders to be processed.
Published: HarperCollins - September 8th, 2020

January 2021 Selection: 

From Sharon Creech, Newbery Medal winner and New York Times bestselling author, comes a powerful coming-of-age story of a girl who discovers the endless possibilities her future may hold, with help from a brilliant teacher and a boy with a generous smile.

Perfect for fans of Love That Dog, this tale is about the transformative power of imagination and the journey to becoming who you are meant to be. This middle grade novel is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 5 to 6, at home or at school. It's a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom.

Gina Filomena has been told she has an overactive imagination. With her bright clothing and artistic spirit, she's always felt different from the other kids in her class. That is, until she meets her new neighbor, a mysterious boy named Antonio with a wide, welcoming smile.

Add in a creative new teacher, Miss Lightstone, and a world of possibilities opens up for Gina, Antonio, and their classmates. With the help of Antonio and Miss Lightstone, will Gina find the answers to the questions Who am I? and Who do I want to be?

 


The WILD GIRLS MOTHER-DAUGHTER BOOK CLUB at Books Inc. Laurel Village

The WILD GIRLS MOTHER-DAUGHTER BOOK CLUB (Ages 9-12) will discuss Emmy in the Key of Code by Aimee Lucido.

Emmy in the Key of Code Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780358040828
Availability: In Stock Now - Click Title to See Store Inventory. Please allow up to 48-hours for Curbside Pickup orders to be processed.
Published: Versify - September 24th, 2019

March 2020 Selection:  For fans of Rebecca Stead and Joan Bauer comes a scrappy, poignant, uplifting debut about family, friendship, and the importance of learning both how to offer help and how to accept it.

"A big-hearted novel with characters I wish were my friends in real life." --Gennifer Choldenko, author of the Al Capone at Alcatraz series

 

Jeanne Ann is smart, stubborn, living in an orange van, and determined to find a permanent address before the start of seventh grade.

 

Cal is tall, sensitive, living in a humongous house across the street, and determined to save her.

 

Jeanne Ann is roughly as enthusiastic about his help as she is about living in a van.

 

As the two form a tentative friendship that grows deeper over alternating chapters, they're buoyed by a cast of complex, oddball characters, who let them down, lift them up, and leave you cheering. Debut novelist Danielle Svetcov shines a light on a big problem without a ready answer, nailing heartbreak and hope, and pulling it off with a humor and warmth that make the funny parts of Jeanne Ann and Cal's story cathartic and the difficult parts all the more moving.

 


The POLITICALLY INSPIRED BOOK CLUB at Books Inc. Mountain View

 The POLITICALLY INSPIRED BOOK CLUB will meet and discuss We Are Indivisible: A Blueprint for Democracy After Trump by Leah Greenberg, Ezra Levin . 

We Are Indivisible: A Blueprint for Democracy After Trump Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781982129972
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atria/One Signal Publishers - November 5th, 2019

The FIRST SATURDAY BOOK CLUB at Books Inc. Berkeley

The FIRST SATURDAY BOOK CLUB will discuss Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman.

Staff Pick Badge
Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780735220690
Availability: In Stock Now - Click Title to See Store Inventory. Please allow up to 48-hours for Curbside Pickup orders to be processed.
Published: Penguin Books - June 5th, 2018

The CLASSICS I FORGOT TO READ BOOK CLUB at Books Inc. in the Marina

The CLASSICS I FORGOT TO READ BOOK CLUB will discuss Silas Marner by George Eliot.

Silas Marner Cover Image
By George Eliot, David Carroll (Introduction by), David Carroll (Notes by)
$9.00
ISBN: 9780141439754
Availability: In Stock Now - Click Title to See Store Inventory. Please allow up to 48-hours for Curbside Pickup orders to be processed.
Published: Penguin Classics - April 29th, 2003

The READ IT LIKE RORY BOOK CLUB at Books Inc. Laurel Village

The READ IT LIKE RORY BOOK CLUB will discuss The Snows of Kilimanjaro by Ernest Hemingway.

The Snows of Kilimanjaro and Other Stories Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780684804446
Availability: In Stock Now - Click Title to See Store Inventory. Please allow up to 48-hours for Curbside Pickup orders to be processed.
Published: Scribner - October 3rd, 1995

Pages