0 Items $0.00

Rocket Says Look Up! (Hardcover)

Rocket Says Look Up! Cover Image
By Nathan Bryon, Dapo Adeola (Illustrator)
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
Books Inc. in Alameda
1 on hand, as of Sep 20 8:40am
Books Inc. in Berkeley
1 on hand, as of Sep 20 8:15am
Books Inc. in Mountain View
2 on hand, as of Sep 20 9:02am
Books Inc. in Palo Alto
2 on hand, as of Sep 20 9:01am
Books Inc. in Opera Plaza/SF
1 on hand, as of Sep 20 8:31am
Books inc. Laurel Village/SF
2 on hand, as of Sep 20 8:30am
Books Inc. in the Marina/SF
3 on hand, as of Sep 20 8:41am
Compass Books-Terminal 2/SFO
1 on hand, as of Sep 20 10:04am
Compass Books-Terminal 3/SFO
1 on hand, as of Sep 20 8:16am
Books Inc. in Campbell
1 on hand, as of Sep 20 8:31am

Description


Meet Rocket--a plucky aspiring astronaut intent on getting her community to LOOK UP! from what they're doing and reach for the stars in this auspicious debut picture book.

A comet will be visible tonight, and Rocket wants everyone to see it with her--even her big brother, Jamal, whose attention is usually trained on his phone or video games. Rocket's enthusiasm brings neighbors and family together to witness a once-in-a-lifetime sighting. Perfect for fans of Ada Twist, Scientist and young science lovers excited about the 50th anniversary of the moon landing, Look Up! will inspire readers of all ages to dream big as it models Rocket's passion for science and infectious curiosity.

Author Nathan Bryon, an actor and screenwriter, and Dapo Adeola, a community-minded freelance illustrator, bring their fresh talents, passion, and enthusiasm to the picture book medium.

About the Author


NATHAN BRYON is a British actor and writer who has written for BAFTA Award-winning children's TV shows. He's a rising star in the world of screenwriting and has an animated series, Afro Kid, currently under option in England. He lives in London.

DAPO ADEOLA creates characters and images that challenge assumptions about gender, race, and ethnicity in a fun and upbeat way. He runs illustration and character-design workshops in and out of schools, to help spotlight the possibility of a career in illustration for inner-city children. He lives in London.

Praise For…


"Outstanding—a breath of fresh air, just like Rocket herself."—Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Ideal for space or science-inclined readers, this book includes brief information about outstanding scientist Jemison and a short list of facts about meteors and comets enclosed in an embrace of family relationships and a child’s joy in the world around her.” —School Library Journal, starred review 

“The sweet, uncomplicated story for young space lovers is peppered with interesting facts about meteors and Mae Jemison, and has bright, colorful, humorous illustrations that subtly but deliberately represent a vibrant, multiethnic, multicultural neighborhood engaging in a community event.” —Booklist


Product Details
ISBN: 9781984894427
ISBN-10: 1984894420
Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: June 25th, 2019
Pages: 32