Wolfboy (Hardcover)

Wolfboy Cover Image
By Andy Harkness, Andy Harkness (Illustrator)
$17.99
In Stock Now - Click Title to See Store Inventory. Please allow up to 48-hours for Curbside Pickup orders to be processed.
Books Inc. Alameda
1 on hand, as of Oct 24 8:34am
Books Inc. Berkeley
1 on hand, as of Oct 24 8:19am
Books Inc. in Opera Plaza/SF
1 on hand, as of Oct 24 8:36am
Compass Books-Terminal 2/SFO
2 on hand, as of Oct 24 8:05am
Compass Books-Terminal 3/SFO
1 on hand, as of Oct 19 4:20am

Spring 2021 Kids Indie Next List


Wolfboy is an edge-of-your-seat suspense story fueled by the all-too-common feelings associated with being hungry. It is a fantastically fun read-aloud with incredible images. The detail of color, texture, and light in the clay sculptures make for amazing spreads. Best enjoyed right after snack time!”
— Meghan Hayden, River Bend Bookshop, Glastonbury, CT

Description


Perfect for fans of Grumpy Monkey and The Bad Seed, this dynamic and hilarious picture book from an exciting new talent shows how feeling hangry can turn even the sweetest kid into a snarling, growling Wolfboy!

Wolfboy is hungry!

He's drooly and growly and fussy!

As he stomps through the forest looking for rabbits, he grows hungrier and growlier by the minute. What will happen if Wolfboy can't find those rabbits? And what will happen if he does?

With bold illustrations and energetic storytelling, Wolfboy perfectly captures the big feelings that come with being very hungry! Engaging for young readers and parents, this funny and fresh picture book will be an instant favorite for all families.

About the Author


Andy Harkness is an award-winning art director who has worked on Moana, Frozen, and Wreck-it-Ralph, among other movies. After twenty-five years at Disney, he recently moved to Sony Pictures Animation. Andy's first book, Bug Zoo, was published by Disney as an Artist Showcase Book in 2016. He lives in California with his family.
www.andyharknessart.com
@andyharknessart (Instagram)
@andybugzoo (Twitter)

Praise For…


“An aesthetic that sets this book apart from others in its achievement of a layered, cinematic feel. . . . Throughout, artful, expressive typography contributes to the overall success of the picture book, guiding the reader's voice to deliver a dynamic read-aloud that matches the visual drama of the art. A read-aloud treat for hungry audiences.” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Readers will feel like they have a front-row seat to a marvelously imagined and sculpted toy theater.” —Publishers Weekly

“The text is delightful and simple, using repetitive variations that naturally encourage participation in read-aloud settings, but it's the exceptional artwork that truly makes this a masterpiece. . . . An imaginative and completely immersive reading adventure.” —Booklist

"Packed with descriptive language, punchy short sentences, and a deliciously menacing refrain ("Rabbits, rabbits! Where are you?"), the text is tailor-made to be read aloud. A simultaneously funny and relatable portrayal of big feelings, splendidly executed in clay and light." - Horn Book Magazine



Product Details
ISBN: 9781547604425
ISBN-10: 1547604425
Publisher: Bloomsbury Children's Books
Publication Date: February 2nd, 2021
Pages: 40
Language: English