0 Items $0.00

The Art of Logic in an Illogical World (Hardcover)

The Art of Logic in an Illogical World Cover Image
$27.00
On Our Shelves Now
Books Inc. in Alameda
2 on hand, as of Sep 20 1:31am
Books Inc. in Berkeley
2 on hand, as of Sep 20 1:39am
Books Inc. in Burlingame
1 on hand, as of Sep 20 1:37am
Books Inc. in Mountain View
3 on hand, as of Sep 20 1:38am
Books Inc. in Palo Alto
3 on hand, as of Sep 20 1:36am
Books Inc. in Opera Plaza/SF
2 on hand, as of Sep 20 1:36am
Books Inc. in Laurel Village/SF
2 on hand, as of Sep 20 1:34am
Books Inc. in the Marina/SF
1 on hand, as of Sep 20 1:34am
Compass Books-Terminal 2/SFO
1 on hand, as of Sep 20 1:35am
Compass Books-Terminal 3/SFO
2 on hand, as of Sep 20 1:32am
Books Inc. in Campbell
1 on hand, as of Sep 20 1:33am

Description


How both logical and emotional reasoning can help us live better in our post-truth world

In a world where fake news stories change election outcomes, has rationality become futile? In The Art of Logic in an Illogical World, Eugenia Cheng throws a lifeline to readers drowning in the illogic of contemporary life. Cheng is a mathematician, so she knows how to make an airtight argument. But even for her, logic sometimes falls prey to emotion, which is why she still fears flying and eats more cookies than she should. If a mathematician can't be logical, what are we to do? In this book, Cheng reveals the inner workings and limitations of logic, and explains why alogic--for example, emotion--is vital to how we think and communicate. Cheng shows us how to use logic and alogic together to navigate a world awash in bigotry, mansplaining, and manipulative memes. Insightful, useful, and funny, this essential book is for anyone who wants to think more clearly.


About the Author


Eugenia Cheng is the scientist in residence at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago and an Honorary Fellow at the University of Sheffield. The author of How to Bake Pi and Beyond Infinity, she lives in Chicago, Illinois.

Praise For…


"It's a shame that not everyone can read this book, but Cheng claims it is incumbent on those of us who can to use compassion and logic to argue productively with those who can't. In this way, advanced mathematics could make a meaningful contribution to creating a better society as well as happier conversations and relationships. There is a sense in which this book is proof it can."—Guardian

"Following in the tradition of George Boole, Lewis Carroll and John Venn, who provided algebraic or diagrammatic aids to logical calculation, Eugenia Cheng enhances her reputation as a popular mathematics writer with this perceptive analysis of logic and its limitations."—Times Higher Education

"Entertaining... a very welcome primer in logical thinking."—Kirkus Reviews

"Cheng's suggestion to combine the persuasive powers of logic with emotional appeal to find common ground is original and pragmatic, particularly in these divisive times."—Publishers Weekly

"With humor, grace, and a natural gift for making explanations seem fun, Eugenia Cheng has done it again. This is a book to savor, to consult, and to buy for all your friends. You'll think more clearly after reading this book, something that is unfortunately in short supply these days. I am buying several copies to send to heads of state."—Daniel J. Levitin, Ph.D., New York Times bestselling author of This Is Your Brain on Music and The Organized Mind

"This book is empowering! Eugenia Cheng makes logic alive and relevant with prose that is accessible, clear and engaging. In this masterpiece, you will learn how the power of logic can clarify some of the most pressing issues that confront us, as individuals and a society."—Stephon Alexander, author of The Jazz of Physics and professor of physics, Brown University


Product Details
ISBN: 9781541672482
ISBN-10: 1541672488
Publisher: Basic Books
Publication Date: September 11th, 2018
Pages: 320
Language: English