0 Items $0.00

The Griffins of Castle Cary (Hardcover)

The Griffins of Castle Cary Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
Books Inc. in Alameda
2 on hand, as of May 21 1:41am
Books Inc. in Berkeley
2 on hand, as of May 21 1:44am
Books Inc. in Mountain View
2 on hand, as of May 21 2:01am
Books Inc. in Palo Alto
2 on hand, as of May 21 1:43am
Books Inc. in Opera Plaza/SF
1 on hand, as of May 21 1:42am
Books Inc. in Laurel Village/SF
2 on hand, as of May 21 1:43am
Books Inc. in the Marina/SF
2 on hand, as of May 21 1:41am
Compass Books-Terminal 2/SFO
1 on hand, as of May 21 2:02am
Compass Books-Terminal 3/SFO
1 on hand, as of May 21 2:02am
Books Inc. in Campbell
2 on hand, as of May 21 1:42am

Description


A charming, adventure-filled debut novel that’s perfect for fans of The Penderwicks series.

Siblings Meg, Will, and Ariel Griffin are off on an adventure! They can’t wait to spend a week visiting their eccentric aunt and her giant, tongue-drooling Newfoundland dog in England. But when they finally arrive, they’re faced with a few local secrets that stir up more than a little trouble.

Add in some very peculiar lights, strange new friends, a police chase and some stampeding sheep, and the Griffin kids are in over their heads—literally. Apparently this town has a ghost problem and the three children must race to solve the mystery before the ghosts take something that doesn’t belong to them.

About the Author


Heather Shumaker grew up always wanting to be an author. She began writing books in elementary school and is now an award-winning author of several books for adults (It’s OK Not to Share, It’s OK to Go Up the Slide and Saving Arcadia). Heather has tried many jobs including sailing on tall ships, leading llama treks, and recycling at the South Pole, Antarctica, but she likes writing best. Today Heather lives up in northern Michigan with her husband and two children. The Griffins of Castle Cary is her first book for children.

Praise For…


"The characters are well-rounded and lovable. The novel is fast-paced and easy to follow, with suspenseful scenes that are not too scary and laugh-out-loud funny scenes perfect for young readers who love adventure. Recommended."
— School Library Connection

"This is a suitable spooky story for readers easing their way into the genre; it includes a few age-appropriate jump scares but relies more heavily on the description to create an eerie vibe. [T]he ghostly fun...keeps up the momentum all the way to the conclusion."
— BCCB


Product Details
ISBN: 9781534430884
ISBN-10: 1534430881
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: March 5th, 2019
Pages: 320
Language: English