0 Items $0.00

500 Words or Less (Hardcover)

500 Words or Less Cover Image
$18.99
On Our Shelves Now
Books Inc. in Alameda
1 on hand, as of Oct 18 1:31am
Books Inc. in Berkeley
1 on hand, as of Oct 18 1:31am
Books Inc. in Burlingame
1 on hand, as of Oct 18 1:39am
Books Inc. in Mountain View
1 on hand, as of Oct 18 1:38am
Books Inc. in Palo Alto
1 on hand, as of Oct 18 1:37am
Books Inc. in Opera Plaza/SF
1 on hand, as of Oct 18 1:37am
Compass Books-Terminal 3/SFO
1 on hand, as of Oct 18 1:33am

Description


A high school senior attempts to salvage her reputation among her Ivy League–obsessed classmates by writing their college admissions essays and in the process learns big truths about herself in this mesmerizing debut novel-in-verse, perfect for fans of Gayle Forman and Sonya Sones.

Nic Chen refuses to spend her senior year branded as the girl who cheated on her charismatic and lovable boyfriend. To redefine her reputation among her Ivy League–obsessed classmates, Nic begins writing their college admissions essays.

But the more essays Nic writes for other people, the less sure she becomes of herself, the kind of person she is, and whether her moral compass even points north anymore.

Provocative, brilliant, and achingly honest, 500 Words or Less explores the heartbreak and hope that marks the search for your truest self.

About the Author


Juleah del Rosario wants you to know that she grew up outside of Seattle on the eastside. She currently lives in a book- and mountain-filled existence as a librarian in Colorado. She is Chamorro and Filipina. Most importantly, she wants you to know that you are loved and you are whole. 

Praise For…


“This compelling novel in verse encourages deep thought and conversation. Fans of Perfect by Ellen Hopkins will devour this timely and addictive read.” School Library Journal

“Del Rosario’s poems are accessible, and Nic proves herself a keen observer of the world around her, an adept interrogator of her own self, and a philosopher who considers how and why life happens the way it does.” Publishers Weekly

“Thoughtfully introspective.” Booklist

“In poignant verse, the moments of anguish, loneliness, and hope ring true.” Kirkus Reviews

“Juleah Del Rosario is an important new voice in YA lit.” —Judy Zuckerman, Brooklyn Public Library


Product Details
ISBN: 9781534410442
ISBN-10: 1534410449
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Publication Date: September 25th, 2018
Pages: 384
Language: English