0 Items $0.00

The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl (Hardcover)

The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl Cover Image
$16.99
On Our Shelves Now
Books Inc. in Alameda
1 on hand, as of Aug 21 1:31am
Books Inc. in Burlingame
3 on hand, as of Aug 21 1:39am
Books Inc. in Mountain View
2 on hand, as of Aug 21 1:38am
Books Inc. in Palo Alto
2 on hand, as of Aug 21 1:37am
Books Inc. in Opera Plaza/SF
1 on hand, as of Aug 21 1:36am
Books Inc. in Laurel Village/SF
2 on hand, as of Aug 21 1:35am
Books Inc. in the Marina/SF
2 on hand, as of Aug 21 1:32am
Compass Books-Terminal 2/SFO
1 on hand, as of Aug 21 1:34am
Compass Books-Terminal 3/SFO
1 on hand, as of Aug 21 1:34am
Books Inc. in Campbell
2 on hand, as of Aug 21 1:33am

Summer 2018 Kids Indie Next List


“Lucy is definitely not your average 12-year-old. Though a lightning strike four years ago left her basically unharmed, it rendered her a mathematical savant with some compulsive behaviors. When Lucy is forced to attend middle school, she does not fit in and struggles to be accepted. She finds solace and friendship among a couple of her classmates and a very special dog. A charming and delightful story about overcoming obstacles and ultimately finding your place in the world.”
— Anita Isser, Bloomsbury Books, Ashland, OR

Description


A lightning strike gave her a super power...but even a super genius can't solve the problem of middle school. This smart and funny novel is perfect for fans of The Fourteenth Goldfish, Rain Reign, and Counting by Sevens.

Lucy Callahan was struck by lightning. She doesn't remember it, but it changed her life forever. The zap gave her genius-level math skills, and ever since, Lucy has been homeschooled. Now, at 12 years old, she's technically ready for college. She just has to pass 1 more test--middle school!

Lucy's grandma insists: Go to middle school for 1 year. Make 1 friend. Join 1 activity. And read 1 book (that's not a math textbook!). Lucy's not sure what a girl who does calculus homework for fun can possibly learn in 7th grade. She has everything she needs at home, where nobody can make fun of her rigid routines or her superpowered brain. The equation of Lucy's life has already been solved. Unless there's been a miscalculation?

A celebration of friendship, Stacy McAnulty's smart and thoughtful middle-grade debut reminds us all to get out of our comfort zones and embrace what makes us different.

"An engaging story, full of heart and hope. Readers of all ages will root for Lucy, aka Lightning Girl. No miscalculations here!" --Kate Beasley, author of Gertie's Leap to Greatness

About the Author


Stacy McAnulty is the author of many books for young readers, including chapter book series The Dino Files and GoldieBlox and picture books including Excellent Ed, 101 Reasons Why I'm NOT Taking a Bath, and Beautiful. The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl is her middle-grade debut. A former mechanical engineer, Stacy writes about math and science with authority. Visit her online at stacymcanulty.com or follow her on social media at:

Twitter: @stacymcanulty
Instagram: StacyMcAnulty
Facebook: StacyMcAnultyAuthor

Praise For…


"Unique and utterly satisfying."—Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"Prepare to fall in love."—School Library Journal, starred review

"Lucy’s journey is beautifully authentic in this debut brimming with warmth, wisdom, and math."—Publishers Weekly, starred review

“McAnulty’s well-drawn cast of characters grapple with the difficulties of middle school, friendships, and life. An engaging story, full of heart and hope. Readers of all ages will root for Lucy, aka Lightning Girl. No miscalculations here!” —Kate Beasley, author of Gertie’s Leap to Greatness

"Fresh story, great characters, a winner!" —Barbara O'Connor, author of Wish

"The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl is calculated to steal your heart!" - Alan Gratz author of Ban This Book and Refugee


Product Details
ISBN: 9781524767570
ISBN-10: 1524767573
Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: May 1st, 2018
Pages: 304
Language: English