0 Items $0.00

Unwifeable: A Memoir (Hardcover)

Unwifeable: A Memoir Cover Image
$27.00
On Our Shelves Now
Books Inc. in Alameda
1 on hand, as of Aug 17 1:34am
Books Inc. in Burlingame
1 on hand, as of Aug 17 1:32am
Books Inc. in Mountain View
1 on hand, as of Aug 17 1:39am
Books Inc. in Palo Alto
1 on hand, as of Aug 17 1:40am
Books Inc. in Opera Plaza/SF
2 on hand, as of Aug 17 1:38am
Books Inc. in Laurel Village/SF
1 on hand, as of Aug 17 1:37am
Books Inc. in the Marina/SF
2 on hand, as of Aug 17 1:35am
Compass Books-Terminal 3/SFO
1 on hand, as of Aug 17 1:35am

Description


From the popular, “candid and bold, tender and tough” (Cheryl Strayed) dating columnist for New York magazine and the New York Post comes a whirlwind and “gutsy” (Courtney Love) memoir recounting countless failed romances and blackout nights, told with Mandy Stadtmiller’s unflinching candor and brilliant wit.

My story is not unique. Single girl comes to New York; New York eats her alive. But what does stand out is my discovery that you can essentially live a life that appears to be a textbook manual for everything one can do wrong to find love—and still find Mr. Right.

Mandy Stadtmiller came to Manhattan in 2005, newly divorced, thirty years old, with a job at the New York Post, ready to conquer the city and the industry in one fell swoop. Like a “real-life Carrie Bradshaw” (so called by Jenny McCarthy), she proceeded to chronicle her fearless attempts for nearly a decade in the Post, New York magazine, and xoJane.

But underneath the glitz and glamour of her new life, there is a darker side threatening to surface. She goes through countless failed high-profile hookups in the New York comedy and writing scene. There are soon too many nights she can't remember, and the blind spots start to add up. She begins to realize that falling in love won't fix her—she needs to fix herself first.

Unwifeable is a New York fairytale brought to life—Sex and the City on acid. With hysterical insight, unabashed sexuality, and unprecedented levels of raw, honest pain, Unwifeable is a “blisteringly candid” (Sarah Hepola, New York Times bestselling author of Blackout) book that you can’t help but respond and relate to—perfect for fans of Amy Schumer and Chelsea Handler.

About the Author


Mandy Stadtmiller is a columnist and comedian who has written for New York magazine, the New York Post, the Washington Post, TimeOut, Maxim, Penthouse, and many more. As editor-at-large of xoJane, she was responsible for many of the most popular articles of all time on the site, including Belle Knox, Charlotte Laws, and Stephanie Cegielski. She lives in New York with her husband.

Praise For…


"Candid and bold, tender and tough, Unwifeable is a riveting read."

"A gutsy book you need to read right now. Filled with heart and humor, it's scary good." 

"Witty, heartbreakingly relatable and inspirational."

"Unwifeable is a hilarious, original, and bravely honest memoir about how to do big-city relationships all wrong and still come out all right." 

"Phenomenal."

“Stadtmiller is a sure, easy writer, and her plight arouses sympathy, not least because she doesn’t attempt to make any of it sound pretty, or better than it was.”

“A blisteringly candid depiction of party-girl carnage and the struggle to stop pointing the gun directly at your own foot. Mandy Stadtmiller is funny, messy, and real. I couldn’t put this book down.”

Unwifeable is at once an inspiring coming-of-age story, a visceral addiction memoir, and an extended gossip column full of bold-face names—like its brash-yet-sensitive, goofy-yet-glamourous author, this book amounts to much more than the sum of its fascinating parts. I couldn’t put it down.” 

"Outrageously entertaining, candid, and well-written…Stadtmiller wins readers over with ease.”

"Many of us hide our warts and scars, but Mandy celebrates them with such humor. Unwifeable is dark, honest, and always entertaining." 

"Unabashedly honest."

"Not since Confessions of a Video Vixen has a memoir been so fraught with insecurities and insurgence, humility and humor, degradation, and ultimately, deliverance." 

"I loved reading Unwifeable. A fascinating kind of chaos with the realization of addiction, and then recovery. What stood out to me most was Mandy Stadtmiller’s optimism all the way through." 

"Brilliant."

"I tip my hat to this absolute icon and queen of the night. Text Mandy for a good time."

"If all people were as entertaining and vigilant about excavating their self deceptions, desires, and fears, clowns like me would have no one to write books for."

"There's honest, and then there's honest. This book is so honest it will blow you away. With Unwifeable, Stadtmiller establishes herself as the Erica Jong of her generation -- with storytelling as addictive as Jay McInerney." 

“Darkly humorous…a ribald memoir of self-discovery.”

"Mandy Stadtmiller speaks the unspeakable in Unwifeable: All those things you think, but never tell anyone. And all those things you do, and hope no one finds out. Mandy lays it all out, and in the process, gets to the real issues of healing and self-discovery."

"So rewarding."

"Spectacular."

Unwifeable is a hilarious, unfiltered plunge; its laugh-out-loud candor will have you rolling on the floor, then getting up and cheering for Mandy every step of the way.”

"Unwifeable is unflinching, unforgettable, and unputdownable.  Also sexy, searingly honest, and hilarious. I loved it."

“Mandy Stadtmiller made me laugh hysterically, weep in recognition, and feel like I did New York all wrong. A behind-the-veil look at what it’s really like to be one of those girls about town that everybody is jealous of, Unwifeable is a compulsively readable work of radical honesty and tremendous heart.”

“This book is exactly what I’d expect from Mandy - introspective, funny and excruciatingly honest. It feels like she wrote an unauthorized biography about herself.” 

“Mandy Stadtmiller has written a rollicking and wildly honest tale that includes lots of sex, vodka, Andy Dick, comedy and self-doubt. The big disappointment was that it ended and I had to go back to my life, which is a lot less interesting than Mandy’s.” 

 “She’s brash, she’s sexy, and she’s scary real. Mandy’s optimism throughout her gritty growth is insightful and enlightening. She makes you feel alive.”

Unwifeable is a comic tour de force. Mandy Stadtmiller is a brilliant, funny, fresh voice.”

“Wonderful, funny, heartbreaking, and redemptive.”

“Unwifeable is fast-paced, by turns bubbly and light and wrenchingly sad. It is an unusually honest and forthright catalogue of a life that has never been ordinary. While the celebrity items will likely hook the casual reader, what may surprise them is the authenticity and care with which Mandy meticulously chronicles yearning, loneliness, and fear. What I found most poignant was Mandy's exploration of growing up with dysfunction, and of her struggle with addiction. This book is a story of painful choices, of the saving power of humor, and of real love."

"Equal parts hilarious and heartbreaking. It's one of those books that you read when you just want to feel like someone else GETS IT."

“Mandy Stadtmiller has managed to craft the rare combination of brutally raw and honest with hilarious and relatable. The perfect book for all of us imperfect women trying to figure out how the hell to make it.” 

"Mandy Stadtmiller is so smart, insightful and funny. Unwifeable will make you want to become her best friend.” 

"A sex-soaked, bare-knuckled, razor-blade-in-the-Big-Apple cri de coeur."

"Unflinchingly honest, raw, and relatable. You're rooting for her the whole way."

“In Unwifeable, sister-in-ink Mandy Stadtmiller lands her biggest scoop yet: the hilarious, yet deeply moving story of her life.”

“A book not afraid to name names and reveal all, with the author leading the charge. A must for anyone brave enough to attempt a creative career in the big city—or any city.”

“Shot through with real pain and wisdom, Mandy Stadtmiller’s soul-baring story of self-destruction and self-discovery is laugh-out-loud funny, brutally honest and utterly fearless—just like her.” 

 

“A raw, harrowing, piercingly funny, binge-filled account of self-destruction and self-discovery.”

“A savagely personal memoir that pulls no punches when it comes to exposing its author’s humanity. It’s as deeply intimate as it is extremely relatable. Mandy Stadtmiller is a stunning writer, equally comedic and sobering.”

"Mandy Stadtmiller details all that she has endured and then has the grace to laugh it all off. It's painfully hilarious."

“Mandy Stadtmiller’s long-awaited memoir is funny, painful, shocking, sordid, hopeful and compulsively readable; unflinching intelligence, lacerating wit and an unexpectedly moving love story. Come for the titillation and stay for the inspiration; Unwifeable has something to inspire and offend almost everyone.”


Product Details
ISBN: 9781501174032
ISBN-10: 1501174037
Publisher: Gallery Books
Publication Date: April 3rd, 2018
Pages: 336
Language: English