0 Items $0.00

Girl Made of Stars (Hardcover)

Girl Made of Stars Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
Books Inc. in Alameda
1 on hand, as of Oct 22 1:31am
Books Inc. in Berkeley
1 on hand, as of Oct 22 1:31am
Books Inc. in Burlingame
1 on hand, as of Oct 22 1:39am
Books Inc. in Mountain View
2 on hand, as of Oct 22 1:38am
Books Inc. in Palo Alto
1 on hand, as of Oct 22 1:37am
Books Inc. in Opera Plaza/SF
1 on hand, as of Oct 22 1:37am
Books Inc. in the Marina/SF
1 on hand, as of Oct 22 1:35am
Compass Books-Terminal 2/SFO
1 on hand, as of Oct 22 1:34am
Compass Books-Terminal 3/SFO
1 on hand, as of Oct 22 1:36am
Books Inc. in Campbell
1 on hand, as of Oct 22 1:33am

Description


For readers of Girl in Pieces and The Way I Used to Be comes an emotionally gripping story about facing hard truths in the aftermath of sexual assault.

Mara and Owen are as close as twins can get, so when Mara’s friend Hannah accuses Owen of rape, Mara doesn't know what to think. Can her brother really be guilty of such a violent act? Torn between her family and her sense of right and wrong, Mara feels lost, and it doesn’t help that things are strained with her ex-girlfriend, Charlie. As Mara, Hannah, and Charlie come together in the aftermath of this terrible crime, Mara must face a trauma from her own past and decide where Charlie fits into her future. With sensitivity and openness, this timely novel confronts the difficult questions surrounding consent, victim blaming, and sexual assault.

About the Author


Ashley Herring Blake used to write songs and now she writes books, including Suffer Love and How to Make a Wish. She reads them a lot too and has been known to stare wistfully at her bookshelves. She lives in Nashville, TN with her husband and two sons. www.ashleyherringblake.com
Twitter: @ashleyhblake
Instagram: @ashleyhblake

Praise For…


“A stunningly good, important book.”— Becky Albertalli, author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, now a major motion picture

"Unforgettable in its candor...Blake’s timely and gripping contribution is a nuanced he-said, she-said story with a fierce feminist bent."--Booklist, ​STARRED review

"A compassionate and engaging novel about what it means to tell your truth, no matter how painful it might be. A must-read for all YA shelves."--School Library Journal, STARRED review

"Mara’s bisexuality and Charlie’s closeted nonbinary gender are examples not only of well-crafted representation but of vital nuance as Mara navigates the present while coming to terms with her past. Blake strives admirably and with resounding success for emotional authenticity while shedding light on issues of consent, trauma, relationships, and identity."--Horn Book Magazine

"A powerful, nuanced, and necessary read."--Kirkus
 


Product Details
ISBN: 9781328778239
ISBN-10: 1328778231
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: May 15th, 2018
Pages: 304
Language: English