0 Items $0.00

The Narrowboat Summer (Hardcover)

The Narrowboat Summer Cover Image
$26.99
In Stock Now - Click Title to See Store Inventory. Please allow up to 48-hours for Curbside Pickup orders to be processed.
Books Inc. Alameda
3 on hand, as of Jan 25 8:40pm
Books Inc. Berkeley
3 on hand, as of Jan 25 8:17pm
Books Inc. Mt. View
1 on hand, as of Jan 25 9:02pm
Books Inc. Palo Alto
2 on hand, as of Jan 25 9:03pm
Books inc. Laurel Village/SF
3 on hand, as of Jan 25 8:31pm
Books Inc. in the Marina/SF
1 on hand, as of Jan 25 8:41pm

Description


From the author of Meet Me at the Museum, a charming novel of second chances, about three women, one dog, and the narrowboat that brings them together

Eve expected Sally to come festooned with suitcases and overnight bags packed with everything she owned, but she was wrong. She arrived on foot, with a rucksack and a carrier bag.
“I just walked away,” she said, climbing on to the boat. Eve knew what she meant.

Meet Eve, who has left her thirty-year career to become a Free Spirit; Sally, who has waved goodbye to her indifferent husband and two grown-up children; and Anastasia, a defiantly independent narrowboat-dweller, who is suddenly landlocked and vulnerable.

Before they quite know what they’ve done, Sally and Eve agree to drive Anastasia’s narrowboat on a journey through the canals of England, as she awaits a life-saving operation. As they glide gently – and not so gently – through the countryside, the eccentricities and challenges of narrowboat life draw them inexorably together, and a tender and unforgettable story unfolds. At summer’s end, all three women must decide whether to return to the lives they left behind, or forge a new path forward.

Candid, hilarious, and uplifting, Anne Youngson's The Narrowboat Summer is a celebration of the power of friendship and new experiences to change one’s life, at any age.

About the Author


Anne Youngson is retired and lives in Oxfordshire. She has two children and three grandchildren to date. Her debut novel, Meet Me at the Museum, was shortlisted for the Costa First Novel Award.

Praise For…


Praise for The Narrowboat Summer

“Fans of Jane Smiley and Hannah Mary McKinnon will enjoy Youngson’s immersive, lyrical account of the women's narrowboat summer, especially the colorful characters they meet along their journey.” Booklist

Praise for
Meet Me at the Museum

Short-listed for the Costa First Novel Award

Indie Next Pick, LibraryReads Selection, Amazon's Featured Debut for August, Goodreads Best of the Month

“The charmer of the summer…A touching, hopeful story about figuring out what matters and mustering the courage to make necessary changes.” —NPR

“How subtle. How perceptive… Gently provoking, delving into how we interact with our children, our spouses, our communities, but mostly with ourselves.” Minneapolis Star Tribune

“Lovely.” Woman’s Day (Editor’s Choice)

“Beautifully written and deeply moving.” --Shelf Awareness



Product Details
ISBN: 9781250764614
ISBN-10: 1250764610
Publisher: Flatiron Books
Publication Date: January 26th, 2021
Pages: 336