0 Items $0.00

Migrations: A Novel (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Migrations: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
Coming Soon - AVAILABLE FOR PRE-ORDER

Description


"Migrations is as beautiful and as wrenching as anything I've ever read. This is an extraordinary novel by a wildly talented writer." —Emily St. John Mandel

"I recommend Migrations with my whole heart."
Geraldine Brooks

For fans of Flight Behavior and Station Eleven, a novel set on the brink of catastrophe, as a young woman chases the world’s last birds—and her own final chance for redemption.

Franny Stone has always been a wanderer. By following the ocean’s tides and the birds that soar above, she can forget the losses that have haunted her life. But when the wild she loves begins to disappear, Franny can no longer wander without a destination. She arrives in remote Greenland with one purpose: to find the world’s last flock of Arctic terns and track their final migration. She convinces Ennis Malone, captain of the Saghani, to take her onboard, winning over his eccentric crew with promises that the birds will lead them to fish.

As the Saghani fights its way south, Franny’s dark history begins to unspool. Battered by night terrors, accumulating a pile of unsent letters, and obsessed with pursuing the terns at any cost, Franny is full of secrets. When her quest threatens the safety of the entire crew, Franny must ask herself what she is really running toward—and running from.

Propelled by a narrator as fierce and fragile as the terns she is following, Migrations is both an ode to our threatened world and a breathtaking page-turner about the lengths we will go for the people we love.

About the Author


Charlotte McConaghy is an author and screenwriter based in Sydney, Australia. Migrations is her U.S. debut.

Praise For…


A Most Anticipated Book (Entertainment Weekly, Vulture, Elle, Harper's Bazaar, Library Journal)

"[A] tantalizingly beautiful epic."
Elle

“You can practically hear the glaciers cracking to pieces and the shrill yelps of the circling terns.”
Vulture

“[A] significant work of environmentally informed literature, both lushly written and heartbreaking.”
Library Journal

"At a time when it feels like we’re at the end of the world, this novel about a different kind of end of the world serves as both catharsis and escape."
Harper's Bazaar

“Transfixing, gorgeously precise…[The] evocation of a world bereft of wildlife is piercing; Franny’s otherworldliness is captivating, and her extreme misadventures and anguished secrets are gripping.”
Booklist (starred review)

"Migrations is as beautiful and as wrenching as anything I've ever read. This is an extraordinary novel by a wildly talented writer."
Emily St. John Mandel, author of The Glass Hotel and Station Eleven

"This novel is enchanting, but not in some safe, fairy-tale sense. Charlotte McConaghy has harnessed the rough magic that sears our souls. I recommend Migrations with my whole heart."
Geraldine Brooks, author of The Secret Chord and March

"Migrations is a wonder. I read it in a gasp. There is hope in these pages; a balm for these troubled times. Charlotte McConaghy's words cut through to the bone."
Lara Prescott, author of The Secrets We Kept

“An astounding meditation on love, trauma, and the cost of survival. A true force of a book that I read holding my breath from its start to its symphonic finish.”
Julia Fine, author of What Should Be Wild

Migrations is indeed about loss—but what makes it miraculous is that it is also about hope. Written in prose as gorgeous as the crystalline beauty of the Arctic, Migrations is deeply moving, haunting, and, yes, important.”
Caroline Leavitt, author of Pictures of You and Cruel Beautiful World

“At times devastating and, at others, surprisingly, undeniably hopeful…Brimming with stunning imagery and raw emotion, Migrations is the incredible story of personal redemption, self-forgiveness and hope for the future in the face of a world on the brink of collapse.”
—Shelf Awareness



Product Details
ISBN: 9781250204028
ISBN-10: 125020402X
Publisher: Flatiron Books
Publication Date: August 4th, 2020
Pages: 272