0 Items $0.00

The History of Jane Doe (Hardcover)

The History of Jane Doe Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
Books Inc. in Alameda
1 on hand, as of Aug 21 1:31am
Books Inc. in Berkeley
3 on hand, as of Aug 21 1:38am
Books Inc. in Burlingame
1 on hand, as of Aug 21 1:39am
Books Inc. in Mountain View
3 on hand, as of Aug 21 1:38am
Books Inc. in Palo Alto
2 on hand, as of Aug 21 1:37am
Books Inc. in Opera Plaza/SF
1 on hand, as of Aug 21 1:36am
Books Inc. in Laurel Village/SF
2 on hand, as of Aug 21 1:35am
Books Inc. in the Marina/SF
2 on hand, as of Aug 21 1:32am
Compass Books-Terminal 2/SFO
2 on hand, as of Aug 21 1:34am
Compass Books-Terminal 3/SFO
1 on hand, as of Aug 21 1:34am
Books Inc. in Campbell
3 on hand, as of Aug 21 1:33am

Description


A poignant, deeply funny coming-of-age story about first love, first loss, and the power of history to give life meaning.

* "[An] impressive debut...John Green fans will gobble this one up." -- Kirkus, starred review

History buff Ray knows everything about the peculiar legends and lore of his rural Connecticut hometown. Burgerville's past is riddled with green cow sightings and human groundhogs, but the most interesting thing about the present is the new girl--we'll call her Jane Doe.

Inscrutable, cool, and above all mysterious, Jane seems as determined to hide her past as Ray is to uncover it. As fascination turns to friendship and then to something more, Ray is certain he knows Jane's darkest, most painful secrets and Jane herself--from past to present. But when the unthinkable happens, Ray is forced to acknowledge that perhaps history can only tell us so much.

Mixing humor with heartache, this is an unmissable coming-of-age story from an exciting new voice in YA.

About the Author


Michael Belanger is a debut young adult author and high school history teacher. He is a member of the Westport Writers' Workshop and faculty advisor to Greenwitch, a high school literary magazine that has published talented young writers--including Truman Capote--for over a hundred years. He currently lives in Connecticut.

Praise For…


★  "[An] impressive debut...Suffused with quirky humor and equal parts life-affirming and heartbreaking, John Green fans will gobble this one up." — Kirkus, starred review

"Readers looking for a moving, realistic portrayal of depression will appreciate this exceptional debut." —Publishers Weekly

"A powerful debut with a story for fans of John Green and Jennifer Niven… guaranteed to tug at your heartstrings.” — BuzzFeed

"A YA triple threat...genuine, believable, and relatable." —Hello Giggles

"Mixing humor with heartache, this is an unmissable coming-of-age story from an exciting new voice in YA." —BookBub

"A story of first love, heartbreak, and the darkness that is depression...an absolute must-read.” —Brightly


Product Details
ISBN: 9780735228818
ISBN-10: 0735228817
Publisher: Dial Books
Publication Date: June 5th, 2018
Pages: 288
Language: English