0 Items $0.00

The Year After You (Hardcover)

The Year After You Cover Image
$17.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


"I love this sad, beautiful, hopeful book." --Kathleen Glasgow, New York Times bestselling author of Girl in Pieces and How to Make Friends With the Dark

For fans of Nina LaCour and Jennifer Niven, a richly layered novel that's both uplifting and heartbreaking, about piecing yourself together after loss and the dark truths we choose to keep from each other and ourselves.


San Francisco. New Year's Eve. A tragic accident after the party of the year. Cara survives. Her best friend, G, doesn't.

Nine months later, Cara is still struggling, consumed by grief and a dark secret she'd rather forget. In the hopes of offering a fresh start, her mother sends her to boarding school in Switzerland, a place where no one knows what happened--and where they never will, if Cara can help it.

But her new classmates Ren and Hector won't let her close herself off. They are determined to break down the walls she has so carefully built up. And maybe Cara wants them to . . . especially Hector, who seems to understand her like no one else does.

The problem is that the closer Cara gets to Hector, the more G slips away. If moving on means letting go of the past--and admitting what she did that night--Cara's not sure how. But a second chance awaits, if she can only find the strength within herself.

"A poignant exploration of grief, guilt, and forgiveness." --Sophie Kinsella, New York Times bestselling author of Finding Audrey and the Shopaholic series

"Transportive and redemptive, this is a gentle story about the universality of grief, the beauty of self-forgiveness, and how new friendship can help heal old wounds."--Ashley Woodfolk, author of The Beauty That Remains and When You Were Everything

"Atmospheric....this is a delicious read."-Irish Times

"A good choice for readers who enjoyed Stephanie Perkins's Anna and the French Kiss and Gayle Forman's If I Stay."--SLJ

About the Author


Nina de Pass started The Year After You, her first novel, during a creative writing class at the Faber Academy. She has an MA in French and Spanish from the University of Edinburgh and now lives and works in London.

To learn more about Nina and her books, visit ninadepass.com and follow @marinadepass on Twitter and Instagram.

Praise For…


"Atmospheric....This is a delicious read that will make readers eager to see what Nina de Pass does next."-Irish Times

"Enhanced by its evocative setting, a warm refuge surrounded by mountains, De Pass’s novel clearly depicts who Cara was previously, who she is now, and how the revelation of her secret affects her relationship with others. Her multiple layers of emotional pain and fear will affect readers deeply.” —Publishers Weekly

"De Pass is an excellent writer....A good choice for readers who enjoyed Stephanie Perkins’s Anna and the French Kiss and Gayle Forman’s If I Stay."-SLJ

"[With] surprisingly truthful revelations...[The Year After You is] a contemplative debut for fans of boarding-school stories and second chances."—Booklist

"A poignant, touching story of grief and guilt that you will hold tight until the very last page. Cara's journey will stay with you for a long time. I love this sad, beautiful, hopeful book." –Kathleen GlasgowNew York Times bestselling author of Girl in Pieces and How to Make Friends With the Dark

"Such a skillful, compelling story, with intrigue that keeps you whipping through the pages . . . a really poignant exploration of grief, guilt and forgiveness." –Sophie KinsellaNew York Times bestselling author of Finding Audrey and the Shopaholic series

Transportive and redemptive, this is a gentle story about the universality of grief, the beauty of self-forgiveness, and how new friendship can help heal old wounds.”
Ashley Woodfolk, Author of The Beauty That Remains and When You Were Everything

"An exploration of grief and loss that breathes new life into the boarding school genre.” –Lauren James, author of The Loneliest Girl in the Universe
 
“An emotional story about grief, survivor’s guilt, and all the messy and varied ways people cope with tragedy. It tugs at your heart strings and gives hope to those recovering from the loss of a loved one. Watching Cara slowly allow her heart to thaw after being frozen in so much pain was truly beautiful.”
–Akemi Dawn Bowman, author of Starfish


Product Details
ISBN: 9780593120767
ISBN-10: 0593120760
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Publication Date: March 31st, 2020
Pages: 368