0 Items $0.00

Murder, Magic, and What We Wore (Hardcover)

Murder, Magic, and What We Wore Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
Books Inc. in Alameda
1 on hand, as of Dec 10 1:36am
Books Inc. in Berkeley
1 on hand, as of Dec 10 1:32am
Books Inc. in Burlingame
1 on hand, as of Dec 10 1:36am
Books Inc. in Mountain View
1 on hand, as of Dec 10 1:35am
Books Inc. in Palo Alto
1 on hand, as of Dec 10 1:37am
Books Inc. in Opera Plaza/SF
1 on hand, as of Dec 10 1:38am
Books Inc. in Laurel Village/SF
1 on hand, as of Dec 10 1:33am
Books Inc. in the Marina/SF
1 on hand, as of Dec 10 1:32am

Description


Fans of Patrice Kindl's Keeping the Castle or Patricia C. Wrede and Caroline Stevermer's Sorcery and Cecelia will adore this funny Regency-era mystery about a determined young woman with a magical trick up her sleeve . . .

The year is 1818, the city is London, and 16-year-old Annis Whitworth has just learned that her father is dead and all his money is missing. And so, of course, she decides to become a spy.

Annis always suspected that her father was himself a spy, and following in his footsteps to unmask his killer makes perfect sense. Alas, it does not make sense to England's current spymasters--not even when Annis reveals that she has the rare magical ability to sew glamours: garments that can disguise the wearer completely.

Well, if the spies are too pigheaded to take on a young woman of quality, then Annis will take them on. And so she crafts a new double life for herself. Miss Annis Whitworth will appear to live a quiet life in a country cottage with her aunt, and Annis-in-disguise as Madame Martine, glamour artist, will open a magical dressmaking shop. That way she can earn a living, maintain her social standing, and, in her spare time, follow the coded clues her father left behind and unmask his killer.

It can't be any harder than navigating the London social season, can it?

"Murder, Magic, and What We Wore blew my bonnet off. Kelly Jones has found a fresh way to share the delights of the magical regency. I truly love this book " --Caroline Stevermer, coauthor of Sorcery & Cecilia, or the Enchanted Chocolate Pot

"A deliciously enchanting adventure full of magic, mystery and delight." --Stephanie Burgis, author of Kat, Incorrigible

About the Author


KELLY JONES has worked as a librarian and a bookseller, and now turns her talents to fiction. Her first book, Unusual Chickens for the Exceptional Poultry Farmer, was an Indies Introduce Pick, an ALA Notable Book, an SLJ Best Book, a Kirkus Reviews Best Book. You can find her at her website: curiosityjones.net, or on Twitter: @curiosityjones.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780553535204
ISBN-10: 055353520X
Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: September 19th, 2017
Pages: 304
Language: English