0 Items $0.00

Journey's End (Hardcover)

Journey's End Cover Image
$16.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


New York Times bestselling author Rachel Hawkins brings us a riveting middle grade fantasy-adventure, perfect for fans of Lisa Graff.
 
The town of Journey's End may not literally be at the end of the world, but it sure feels like it to Nolie Stanhope. Spending the summer with her scientist father in the tiny Scottish village isn't exactly Nolie's idea of a good time, but she soon finds a friend: native Journey's Ender Bel McKissick. 

While Nolie's father came to Journey's End to study the Boundary--a mysterious fog bank offshore--Bel's family  can’t afford to consider it a threat.  The McKissick’s livelihood depends on the tourists drawn by legends of a curse. Still, whether you believe in magic or science, going into the Boundary means you'll never come back. 

…Unless you do. Albert Etheridge, a boy who disappeared into the Boundary in 1914, suddenly returns--without having aged a day and with no memory of the past hundred years. Then the Boundary starts creeping closer to the town, threatening to consume everyone within.

While Nolie's father wants to have the village evacuated, Bel's parents lead the charge to stay in Journey's End. Meanwhile, Albert and the girls look for ways to stop the encroaching boundary, coming across an ancient Scottish spell that requires magic, a quest, and a sacrifice.

About the Author


Rachel Hawkins is the author of the Rebel Belle series and the New York Times bestselling Hex Hall series. Born in Virginia and raised in Alabama, Rachel taught high school English before becoming a full-time writer.

Praise For…


"Hawkins’s latest middle grade novel is a spooky tale of friendship and adventure."—School Library Journal

"[T]he story meanders happily through local myth and legend, seamlessly blending an American and Scottish perspectives....Rife with emotion and adventure, Hawkins’s novel celebrates the joyful explorations of childhood and the sometimes-difficult lessons learned with age."—Publisher's Weekly

"Entwined with the contemporary story...is an account of a 500-year-old tragedy: the death of a laird's son, the nanny punished for it, and a powerful curse."—Kirkus

"At the heart of the story . . . is not the supernatural phenomenon but the slowly developing relationships between the two girls. . . . readers who like their story’s threads, supernatural or otherwise, neatly tied up will find this journey’s conclusion perfectly satisfying."—BCCB


Product Details
ISBN: 9780399169601
ISBN-10: 0399169601
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: October 25th, 2016
Pages: 304
Language: English