0 Items $0.00

This Must Be the Place (Vintage Contemporaries) (Paperback)

This Must Be the Place (Vintage Contemporaries) Cover Image
$16.95
On Our Shelves Now
Books Inc. in Laurel Village/SF
2 on hand, as of Aug 15 1:40am
Compass Books-Terminal 2/SFO
1 on hand, as of Aug 15 1:38am

Description


An irresistible love story, an unforgettable family. Bestselling author Maggie O’Farrell captures an extraordinary marriage with insight and laugh-out-loud humor in what Richard Russo calls “her breakout book.” Perfect for readers of Where’d You Go, Bernadette.
 
Daniel Sullivan leads a complicated life. A New Yorker living in the wilds of Ireland, he has children he never sees in California, a father he loathes in Brooklyn, and his wife, Claudette, is a reclusive ex–film star given to pulling a gun on anyone who ventures up their driveway. Together, they have made an idyllic life in the country, but a secret from Daniel’s past threatens to destroy their meticulously constructed and fiercely protected home. Shot through with humor and wisdom, This Must Be the Place is an irresistible love story that crisscrosses continents and time zones as it captures an extraordinary marriage, and an unforgettable family, with wit and deep affection.

About the Author


Maggie O’Farrell is the author of six previous novels, After You’d Gone; My Lover’s Lover; The Distance Between Us, which won a Somerset Maugham Award; The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox; The Hand That First Held Mine, which won the Costa Novel Award; and Instructions for a Heatwave, which was short-listed for the Costa Novel Award. She lives in Edinburgh.

Praise For…


“Intensely absorbing. . . . O’Farrell writes novels in which you can happily lose yourself.” —NPR

“Compassionate. . . . Few contemporary writers equal Maggie O’Farrell’s gift for combining intricate, engrossing plots with full-bodied characterizations.” —The Washington Post
 
“Heartfelt.” —Vogue

“Marvelous, a contemporary and highly readable experiment whose ambitious structure both enacts and illuminates its central concern: what links and separates our 21st-century selves as we love, betray, blunder and soldier on (and back) through time.” —The New York Times Book Review
 
“Extraordinary. . . . An engrossing novel . . . from a writer of impressive, perhaps masterly, skills.” —The Washington Times



Product Details
ISBN: 9780345804723
ISBN-10: 0345804724
Publisher: Vintage
Publication Date: May 16th, 2017
Pages: 400
Language: English
Series: Vintage Contemporaries