0 Items $0.00

Outrun the Moon (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
Outrun the Moon Cover Image
$10.99
On Our Shelves Now
Books Inc. in Alameda
1 on hand, as of Apr 26 1:37am
Books Inc. in Berkeley
1 on hand, as of Apr 26 1:38am
Books Inc. in Burlingame
1 on hand, as of Apr 26 1:37am
Books Inc. in Mountain View
4 on hand, as of Apr 26 1:36am
Books Inc. in Palo Alto
2 on hand, as of Apr 26 1:31am
Books Inc. in Santa Clara
1 on hand, as of Apr 26 1:34am
Books Inc. in Opera Plaza/SF
2 on hand, as of Apr 26 1:35am
Books Inc. in Laurel Village/SF
1 on hand, as of Apr 26 1:34am
Books Inc. in the Marina/SF
1 on hand, as of Apr 26 1:33am

Staff Reviews


Stacey Lee has created yet another amazing cast of characters! Mercy Wong is a strong, independent young woman who loves her family and takes charge when necessary. San Francisco is more of a character than a setting and you can feel Stacey's love for it in the writing, which is beautiful and descriptive. I knew the second I started reading that I would love this book. I instantly sank into this great story, knowing it would take me along for a great ride!

— Hannah, NYMBC

Description


From the author of the critically acclaimed Under a Painted Sky, an unforgettable story of determination set against a backdrop of devastating tragedy. Perfect for fans of Code Name Verity.

Winner of the PEN Center USA Literary Award for Young Adult
Winner of the Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature

Fifteen-year-old Mercy Wong is determined to break from the poverty of Chinatown, San Francisco in 1906, and an education at St. Clare's School for Girls is her best hope. Although St. Clare's is off-limits to all but the wealthiest white girls, Mercy gains admittance through a mix of cunning and a little bribery, only to discover that getting in was the easiest part. Not to be undone by a bunch of spoiled heiresses, Mercy stands strong--until disaster strikes.

On April 18, a historic earthquake rocks San Francisco, destroying Mercy's home and school. Now she's forced to wait with her classmates for their families in a temporary park encampment. Though fires might rage, and the city may be in shambles, Mercy can't sit by while they wait for the army to bring help--she still has the "bossy" cheeks that mark her as someone who gets things done. But what can one teenage girl do to heal so many suffering in her broken city?

About the Author


Stacey Lee is a fourth generation Californian with roots in San Francisco Chinatown. Born in Southern California, she graduated from UCLA then got her law degree at UC Davis King Hall. She has lots of experience with earthquakes, having skinned her knees more times than she wants to remember diving under tables. One day she hopes to own a hypoallergenic horse and live by the sea. Visit Stacey at www.staceyhlee.com. See what she's up to on Twitter: @staceyleeauthor.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780147516916
ISBN-10: 0147516919
Publisher: Speak
Publication Date: May 2nd, 2017
Pages: 416
Language: English