0 Items $0.00

Until Tomorrow, Mr. Marsworth (Paperback)

Until Tomorrow, Mr. Marsworth Cover Image
$8.99
On Our Shelves Now
Books inc. Laurel Village/SF
1 on hand, as of Aug 25 4:31pm

Description


Set against the backdrop of the Vietnam War, one young girl is determined to save her brother from the draft—and gets help from an unlikely source—in this middle-grade tale, perfect for fans of The Wednesday Wars
 
When eleven-year-old Reenie Kelly’s mother passes away, she and her brothers are shipped off to live with their grandmother. Adjusting to life in her parents’ Midwestern hometown isn’t easy, but once Reenie takes up a paper route with her older brother Dare, she has something she can look forward to. As they introduce themselves to every home on their route, Reenie’s stumped by just one—the house belonging to Mr. Marsworth, the town recluse. When he doesn’t answer his doorbell, Reenie begins to leave him letters. Slowly, the two become pen pals, striking up the most unlikely of friendships.

Through their letters, Reenie tells of her older brother Billy, who might enlist to fight in the Vietnam War. Reenie is desperate to stop him, and when Mr. Marsworth hears this, he knows he can’t stand idly by. As a staunch pacifist, Mr. Marsworth offers to help Reenie. Together, they concoct a plan to keep Billy home, though Reenie doesn’t know Mr. Marsworth’s dedication to her cause goes far beyond his antiwar beliefs.

In this heartwarming piece of historical fiction, critically acclaimed author Sheila O’Connor delivers a tale of devotion, sacrifice, and family.

About the Author


Sheila O'Connor is the critically acclaimed author of Sparrow Road, winner of the International Reading Award, and Keeping Safe the Stars, as well as the adult novels Tokens of Grace and Where No Gods Came, winner of the Michigan Prize for Literary Fiction and the Minnesota Book Award. A writer of poetry, fiction, and creative nonfiction for audiences of all ages, Sheila is a professor in the MFA program at Hamline University, where she also serves as the fiction editor for Water~Stone Review.

Praise For…


Praise for Until Tomorrow, Mr. Marsworth:
Indie Next Pick
MIBA Midwest Connections Pick
A Lectio Book Award Winner for 2019-2020
A Maine Student Book Award Nominee – 2019-2020
A Sequoyah Intermediate Book Award Nominee – 2020


Moving and thought-provoking.” — Kirkus Reviews

“This historical novel doesn’t shy away from hard truths about war and life, so keep a Kleenex box handy as you read it...an excellent choice for a class read-aloud.” — School Library Connection

O’Connor’s characters are intriguing and easy to love … and [she] throws some interesting curve balls into the story that keep readers engaged and wanting  more.” —School Library Journal

The remarkable relationship between Reenie and Mr. Marsworth shines, as do the larger historical insights and the book’s resonant themes of pacifism and patriotism.” — Publishers Weekly

Beautifully rendered…This is a sweet story about a girl trying to save her brother from the draft. But it is also a significant historical tale about war, bullies, peace, friendship and family.”—Star Tribune

"The small town setting hits just the right note and perfectly illustrates the tension and division of the era. This is a most satisfying read and a worthy addition to young adult libraries."—VOYA

“In this heartwarming piece of historical fiction, critically acclaimed author Sheila O’Connor delivers a tale of devotion, sacrifice, and family.”—The Children’s Book Review


Product Details
ISBN: 9780142425541
ISBN-10: 0142425540
Publisher: Puffin Books
Publication Date: May 14th, 2019
Pages: 384