0 Items $0.00

Red Scarf Girl: A Memoir of the Cultural Revolution (Paperback)

Red Scarf Girl: A Memoir of the Cultural Revolution Cover Image
$7.99
On Our Shelves Now
Books Inc. in Burlingame
1 on hand, as of Feb 19 1:36am
Books Inc. in Palo Alto
1 on hand, as of Feb 19 1:37am
Books Inc. in the Marina/SF
1 on hand, as of Feb 19 1:32am

Description


Publishers Weekly Best Book * ALA Best Book for Young Adults * ALA Notable Children's Book * ALA Booklist Editors' Choice

In the tradition of The Diary of Anne Frank and I Am Malala, this is the incredible true story of one girl's courage and determination during one of the most terrifying eras of the twentieth century. This edition includes a detailed glossary, pronunciation guide, discussion questions, and a Q&A with the author.

It's 1966, and twelve-year-old Ji-li Jiang has everything a girl could want: brains, popularity, and a bright future in Communist China. But it's also the year that China's leader, Mao Ze-dong, launches the Cultural Revolution--and Ji-li's world begins to fall apart.

Over the next few years, people who were once her friends and neighbors turn on her and her family, forcing them to live in constant terror of arrest. And when Ji-li's father is finally imprisoned, she faces the most difficult dilemma of her life.

Written in an accessible and engaging style, this page-turning, honest, and deeply personal autobiography will appeal to readers of all ages.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780064462082
ISBN-10: 0064462080
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: July 29th, 2004
Pages: 320
Language: English