The Birchbark House (Paperback)

The Birchbark House Cover Image
In Stock Now - Click Title to See Store Inventory. Please allow up to 48-hours for Curbside Pickup orders to be processed.
Books Inc. Alameda
1 on hand, as of Jan 20 8:34pm
Books Inc. Berkeley
3 on hand, as of Jan 20 8:20pm
Books Inc. Mt. View
1 on hand, as of Jan 20 8:44pm
Books Inc. Palo Alto
4 on hand, as of Jan 20 9:05pm
Books Inc. in Opera Plaza/SF
3 on hand, as of Jan 20 8:35pm
Books inc. Laurel Village/SF
3 on hand, as of Jan 20 8:35pm
Books Inc. in the Marina/SF
2 on hand, as of Jan 20 8:43pm
Books Inc. Campbell
1 on hand, as of Jan 20 8:36pm

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the Birchbark House series.


This National Book Award finalist by Pulitzer Prize-winning novelist Louise Erdrich is the first installment in an essential nine-book series chronicling 100 years in the life of one Ojibwe family, and includes beautiful interior black-and-white artwork done by the author.

She was named Omakayas, or Little Frog, because her first step was a hop.

Omakayas and her family live on an island in Lake Superior. Though there are growing numbers of white people encroaching on their land, life continues much as it always has.

But the satisfying rhythms of their life are shattered when a visitor comes to their lodge one winter night, bringing with him an invisible enemy that will change things forever—but that will eventually lead Omakayas to discover her calling.

By turns moving and humorous, this novel is a breathtaking tour de force by a gifted writer.

The beloved and essential Birchbark House series by Louise Erdrich includes The Birchbark House, The Game of Silence, The Porcupine Year, Chickadee, and Makoons.

About the Author

Louise Erdrich, a member of the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa, is the author of many novels as well as volumes of poetry, children’s books, and a memoir of early motherhood. Her novel The Round House won the National Book Award for Fiction. Love Medicine and LaRose received the National Book Critics Circle Award for Fiction. Erdrich lives in Minnesota with her daughters and is the owner of Birchbark Books, a small independent bookstore. Her most recent book, The Night Watchman, won the Pulitzer Prize. A ghost lives in her creaky old house.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780063064164
ISBN-10: 0063064162
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: November 16th, 2021
Pages: 272
Language: English
Series: Birchbark House