New Kid: A Newbery Award Winner (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
New Kid: A Newbery Award Winner By Jerry Craft, Jerry Craft (Illustrator) Cover Image

New Kid: A Newbery Award Winner (Paperback)

By Jerry Craft, Jerry Craft (Illustrator)

$12.99


On Our Shelves Now - Please allow up to 48-hours for Curbside Pickup orders to be processed.
Books inc. Laurel Village/SF
1 on hand, as of Jul 19 8:21pm
Books Inc. in the Marina/SF
1 on hand, as of Jul 19 8:46pm
Books Inc. San Leandro
1 on hand, as of Jul 19 5:09pm

Staff Reviews


This is my very pointed gift for every kid who loves graphic novels but their parents and teachers claim it's not "real reading." Not only is it phenomenal, relatable (and hilarious!), it's the first graphic novel to win a Newbery Award. Hard to argue with that!

 

— From Katryn Bury's Picks

Winner of the Newbery Medal, Coretta Scott King Author Award, and Kirkus Prize for Young Readers’ Literature! 

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real, from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft. 

Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade.

As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds—and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?

This middle grade graphic novel is an excellent choice for tween readers, including for summer reading.

New Kid is a selection of the Schomburg Center's Black Liberation Reading List.

Plus don't miss Jerry Craft's Class Act!

Jerry Craft is the author-illustrator of #1 New York Times bestselling graphic novels New Kid and its companion book, Class Act. New Kid was the first book in history to win the Newbery Medal, the Coretta Scott King Author Award, and the Kirkus Prize for Young Readers’ Literature. In his latest book, School Trip, Jerry hopes to share his love of travel in order to inspire kids and their families to see the world and embrace new cultures. He received his BFA from the School of Visual Arts and now lives in Florida. 



Jerry Craft is the author-illustrator of #1 New York Times bestselling graphic novels New Kid and its companion book, Class Act. New Kid was the first book in history to win the Newbery Medal, the Coretta Scott King Author Award, and the Kirkus Prize for Young Readers’ Literature. In his latest book, School Trip, Jerry hopes to share his love of travel in order to inspire kids and their families to see the world and embrace new cultures. He received his BFA from the School of Visual Arts and now lives in Florida. 

“Funny, sharp, and totally real! Jordan Banks is the kid everyone will be talking about!” — Jeff Kinney, Author of Diary of a Wimpy Kid

★“Possibly one of the most important graphic novels of the year.” — Booklist (starred review)

★“An engrossing, humorous, and vitally important graphic novel that should be required reading in every middle school in America.” — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

★“This is more than a story about being the new kid—it’s a complex examination of the micro- and macroaggressions that Jordan endures from classmates and teachers. Highly recommended for all middle grade shelves.” — School Library Journal (starred review)

★“This engaging story offers an authentic secondary cast and captures the high jinks of middle schoolers and the tensions that come with being a person of color in a traditionally white space.” — Publishers Weekly (starred review)

★ “Award-winning author/illustrator Jerry Craft confronts elitism, microaggression, racism, socioeconomic disparity and white privilege in a familiar setting. His preteen audiences will undoubtedly recognize and empathize with Craft’s memorable cast.” — Shelf Awareness, (starred review)

“Craft’s full-color comics art is dynamic and expressive. This school story stands out as a robust, contemporary depiction of a preteen navigating sometimes hostile spaces yet staying true to himself thanks to friends, family, and art.” — Horn Book Magazine

New Kid is at once tender and tough, funny and heartbreaking. Hand this to the middle-grade reader in your life right away.” — The New York Times Book Review

"This story captures the tensions that come with being a person of color in a traditionally white space." — Publishers Weekly

“Genuine characters propel this funny, warm, biting, fearless story. Entertaining and insightful, it will surely offer affirmation for some readers, revelation for others.” — Cooperative Children’s Book Center

“An honest and compelling read for any kid looking for a place to belong.” — Scholastic Teacher Magazine

“This beautifully crafted work captures ‘tween angst, recognizes everyday and systemic injustice, and challenges everyone to do better by every kid." — The San Francisco Chronicle