0 Items $0.00

Evangeline of the Bayou (Hardcover)

Evangeline of the Bayou Cover Image
By Jan Eldredge, Joseph Kuefler (Illustrator)
$16.99
On Our Shelves Now
Books Inc. in Alameda
1 on hand, as of Oct 22 1:31am
Books Inc. in Burlingame
2 on hand, as of Oct 22 1:39am
Books Inc. in Mountain View
2 on hand, as of Oct 22 1:38am
Books Inc. in Palo Alto
1 on hand, as of Oct 22 1:37am
Books Inc. in Campbell
1 on hand, as of Oct 22 1:33am

Description


A standout middle grade adventure with a sassy, memorable heroine and a charming Southern feel, perfect for fans of Kate DiCamillo and Natalie Lloyd.

Twelve-year-old haunt huntress apprentice Evangeline Clement spends her days and nights studying the ways of folk magic, honing her monster-hunting skills while pursuing local bayou banshees and Johnny revenants.

With her animal familiar sure to make itself known any day now, the only thing left to do is prove to the council she has heart. Then she will finally be declared a true haunt huntress, worthy of following in the footsteps of her long line of female ancestors.

But when Evangeline and her grandmother are called to New Orleans to resolve an unusual case, she uncovers a secret that will shake her to the soles of her silver-tipped alligator-skin boots.

Set in the evocative Louisiana bayou and the vibrant streets of New Orleans, Evangeline’s is a tale of loyalty and determination, the powerful bonds of friendship and family, and the courage to trust your gut no matter how terrifying that might be.

About the Author


Jan Eldredge was born and raised in Louisiana and is the author of Evangeline of the Bayou. She now lives in Florida with her husband, their children, and a house full of cats. When she’s not writing, she spends her time reading, going to theme parks, and exploring old cemeteries. She is particularly fascinated with monsters, magic, and all such eldritch things. Learn more about Jan at www.janeldredge.com.



Joseph Kuefler is the author-illustrator of Beyond the Pond, Rulers of the Playground, and The Digger and the Flower. He lives in Minnesota with his wife and children. You can visit him online at www.josephkuefler.com.

Praise For…


“Evangeline is a delightful heroine, right down to the silver tips of her boots.”
— Cassie Beasley, New York Times bestselling author of Circus Mirandus

“Readers will revel in the magic and culture of Louisiana”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062680341
ISBN-10: 006268034X
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: May 1st, 2018
Pages: 320
Language: English