0 Items $0.00

The Closest I've Come (Hardcover)

The Closest I've Come Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
Books Inc. in Laurel Village/SF
1 on hand, as of May 27 1:35am

Description


A Kirkus Best Book of 2017!

Read the book Morris Award finalist Sonia Patel called "a brilliant, subtle debut," and Kirkus hailed as "heart-wrenching, funny, hopeful, and not-to-be-missed" in a starred review!

The Closest I’ve Come is a must-read from talented first-time author Fred Aceves, in the tradition of Walter Dean Myers.

Marcos Rivas yearns for love, a working cell phone, and maybe a pair of sneakers that aren’t falling apart. But more than anything, Marcos wants to get out of Maesta, his hood, away from his indifferent mom and her abusive boyfriend—which seems impossible.

When Marcos is placed in a new after-school program, he meets Zach and Amy, whose friendship inspires Marcos to open up to his Maesta crew, too, and starts to think more about his future and what he has to fight for. Marcos ultimately learns that bravery isn’t about acting tough and being macho; it’s about being true to yourself.

The Closest I’ve Come is a story about traversing real and imagined boundaries, about discovering new things in the world, and about discovering yourself, too.

Praise For…


“Aceves has written a remarkable debut novel....[E]very reader will enjoy Aceves’s deft handling of this coming-of-age journey. The Closest I’ve Come will be a welcome addition to the growing cannon of quality urban young adult literature.”

“A brilliant, subtle debut.”

★ “Heart-wrenching, funny, hopeful, and not-to-be-missed.”

“A story that will have readers cheering by the end. An inspirational read.”

“Recommended for fans of Jason Reynolds and for readers who appreciate gritty and introspective realistic fiction with a sense of humor.”

★ “[A] memorable, hard-hitting portrait of a teenager trying to shape his own destiny after being dealt a difficult hand.”

“It takes about half a page of this debut to become convinced Aceves is an author to watch, but there’s no point at which you’ll want to put down his strongly voiced coming-of-age, perfect for fans of When I Was the Greatest.”

“A debut that’s as stunning as it is powerful, Aceves’ novel is a story is a complex story about family and friendships. Don’t sleep on this one.”

“Effective, and there’s a refreshing subversion of literary expectation...The accessible writing brings this story to a wide range of readers.”

“[E]xplores the nuances of class and ethnicity through the eyes of a hero that readers will love rooting for.”


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062488534
ISBN-10: 0062488538
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: November 7th, 2017
Pages: 320
Language: English