0 Items $0.00

Dare Mighty Things (Hardcover)

Dare Mighty Things Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
Books Inc. in Alameda
1 on hand, as of May 27 1:31am
Books Inc. in the Marina/SF
1 on hand, as of May 27 1:34am

Description


The Selection meets The 5th Wave in this heart-racing debut duology about a girl competing for a spot on a mysterious mission to the outer reaches of space.

THE RULES ARE SIMPLE: You must be gifted. You must be younger than twenty-five. You must be willing to accept the dangers that you will face if you win.

Eighteen-year-old Cassandra Gupta’s entire life has been leading up to this—the opportunity to travel to space. But to secure a spot on this classified mission, she must first compete against the best and brightest people on the planet. People who are as determined as she is to win a place on a journey to the farthest reaches of the universe.

Cassie is ready for the toll that the competition will take; the rigorous mental and physical tests designed to push her to the brink of her endurance. But nothing could have prepared her for the bonds she would form with the very people she hopes to beat. Or that with each passing day it would be more and more difficult to ignore the feeling that the true objective of the mission is being kept from her.

As the days until the launch tick down and the stakes rise higher than ever before, only one thing is clear to Cassie: she’ll never back down...even if it costs her everything.

Praise For…


“With a flawless balance of scientific world-building and imaginative competitions, Dare Mighty Things invites readers on the adventure of a lifetime.”

“With a smart, driven heroine, a diverse cast, and a high-stakes competition, DARE MIGHTY THINGS is an action-packed novel you won’t want to put down!”

“Gripping and original, packed with tension and intrigue, Dare Mighty Things grabbed me from the start and kept me guessing right to the end! Space, STEM and a kickass heroine with her eyes on the prize -- what more could you want?”

“An original take on the competition theme featuring a unique and flawed heroine, this sci-fi novel blasts off with tons of action balanced with authentic dialogue and characters...especially appropriate for fans of Andy Weir’s The Martian and James Dashner’s The Maze Runner.”

“With a diverse cast of strong, fleshed-out characters—including an asexual protagonist—teens of all sorts will find something to like in Kaczynski’s debut.... Kaczynski’s characters and her detailed portrayal of training for space will leave readers impatient for the next volume in this duology.”


“…Well crafted… The worldbuilding is exceptional”

“Cassandra is a relatable character, confident without arrogance, and readers will cheer for her as she works her way up from the bottom of the pack and makes friends in spite of herself…Several plot twists and a diverse cast of characters make for an exciting atmosphere.”


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062479860
ISBN-10: 0062479865
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: October 10th, 2017
Pages: 384
Language: English