0 Items $0.00

Alabama Spitfire: The Story of Harper Lee and to Kill a Mockingbird (Hardcover)

Alabama Spitfire: The Story of Harper Lee and to Kill a Mockingbird Cover Image
By Bethany Hegedus, Erin McGuire (Illustrator)
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
Books Inc. in Alameda
1 on hand, as of Feb 18 1:37am
Books Inc. in Berkeley
5 on hand, as of Feb 18 1:36am
Books Inc. in Burlingame
1 on hand, as of Feb 18 1:38am
Books Inc. in Mountain View
1 on hand, as of Feb 18 1:35am
Books Inc. in Palo Alto
3 on hand, as of Feb 18 1:38am
Books Inc. in Santa Clara
1 on hand, as of Feb 18 1:34am
Books Inc. in Opera Plaza/SF
1 on hand, as of Feb 18 1:39am
Books Inc. in Laurel Village/SF
4 on hand, as of Feb 18 1:35am
Books Inc. in the Marina/SF
1 on hand, as of Feb 18 1:33am
Compass Books-Terminal 2/SFO
1 on hand, as of Feb 18 1:32am
Compass Books-Terminal 3/SFO
1 on hand, as of Feb 18 1:32am

Description


The inspiring true story of Harper Lee, the girl who grew up to write To Kill a Mockingbird, from Bethany Hegedus and Erin McGuire. Perfect for fans of The Right Word and I Dissent.

Nelle Harper Lee grew up in the rocky red soil of Monroeville, Alabama. From the get-go she was a spitfire.

Unlike most girls at that time and place, Nelle preferred overalls to dresses and climbing trees to tea parties. Nelle loved to watch her daddy try cases in the courtroom. And she and her best friend, Tru, devoured books and wrote stories of their own. More than anything Nelle loved words.

This love eventually took her all the way to New York City, where she dreamed of becoming a writer. Any chance she had, Nelle sat at her typewriter, writing, revising, and chasing her dream. Nelle wouldn't give up--not until she discovered the right story, the one she was born to tell.

Finally, that story came to her, and Nelle, inspired by her childhood, penned To Kill a Mockingbird. A groundbreaking book about small-town injustice that has sold over forty million copies, Nelle's novel resonated with readers the world over, who, through reading, learned what it was like to climb into someone else's skin and walk around in it.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062456700
ISBN-10: 0062456709
Publisher: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen
Publication Date: January 23rd, 2018
Pages: 40
Language: English