0 Items $0.00

Power Up (Hardcover)

Power Up Cover Image
By Seth Fishman, Isabel Greenberg (Illustrator)
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
Books Inc. in Alameda
1 on hand, as of Mar 26 1:41am
Books Inc. in Berkeley
1 on hand, as of Mar 26 1:46am
Books Inc. in Mountain View
5 on hand, as of Mar 26 1:47am
Books Inc. in Palo Alto
3 on hand, as of Mar 26 1:46am
Books Inc. in Opera Plaza/SF
1 on hand, as of Mar 26 1:45am
Books Inc. in Laurel Village/SF
5 on hand, as of Mar 25 1:46am
Books Inc. in the Marina/SF
1 on hand, as of Mar 26 1:44am
Compass Books-Terminal 2/SFO
1 on hand, as of Mar 26 1:43am
Compass Books-Terminal 3/SFO
1 on hand, as of Mar 26 1:43am
Books Inc. in Campbell
2 on hand, as of Mar 26 1:42am

Description


The companion to the popular and award-winning A Hundred Billion Trillion Stars.

This captivating and educational picture book from Seth Fishman and Isabel Greenberg introduces young readers to basic facts about energy and the human body. Fun, informative and accessible, Power Up is perfect for classroom and family sharing. A great title to read along with Andrea Beaty’s Ada Twist, Scientist and Oliver Jeffers’s Here We Are.

Did you know there is enough energy in your pinkie finger to power an entire city? And that everything you do—running, jumping, playing, and exploring—uses that same energy inside of you?

In the companion to the acclaimed A Hundred Billion Trillion Stars, Seth Fishman and Isabel Greenberg explore the relationship between energy and the human body, breaking down complicated concepts into small, child-friendly segments. Seth Fishman’s playful text explores the science behind the most energetic kids, while Isabel Greenberg’s vibrant illustrations offer plenty for children to explore in multiple readings.

Ideal for curious kids and classroom learning, this engaging book is for fans of Elin Kelsey’s You Are Stardust and John Scieszka’s Science Verse.

About the Author


Seth Fishman is the author of the picture books A Hundred Billion Trillion Stars, a Boston Globe–Horn Book Award Honor book and Mathical Prize winner, and Power Up. He is a graduate of Princeton University and the University of East Anglia in Norwich, England. He lives in Los Angeles, California. He is also the author of two young adult novels and is a literary agent.



Isabel Greenberg goes through 57 paintbrushes in a year and draws for 6 hours a day with 4 to 5 cups of tea to keep her going. She has written 2 graphic novels and illustrated 5 books for children. She lives in London. www.isabelnecessary.com

Praise For…


“Fishman begins this work with an unbelievable but true statement about how there is enough energy in a person’s pinkie finger to power a large city for an entire day. ...A great introduction to human physiology that affirms just how special our bodies are.”
— School Library Journal

“The creative team behind A Hundred Billion Trillion Stars turns from astronomical bodies to the human body. . . .An inspirational companion to traditional health books and mindfulness activities.”
— ALA Booklist

“Math and science enthusiasts, this one’s for you! . . .Parents and kids alike will appreciate the book’s exhortation to stay curious. A fresh, scientific look at one aspect of the incredible human body.”
— Kirkus Reviews

“The text presents information with clarity, humor, and, above all, wonder—both at the amazing human body and at everything it allows the child reader to do, think, learn, and discover.”
— The Horn Book


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062455796
ISBN-10: 0062455796
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Publication Date: March 19th, 2019
Pages: 40
Language: English