0 Items $0.00

Your Own Worst Enemy (Hardcover)

Your Own Worst Enemy Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
Books Inc. in Alameda
1 on hand, as of Nov 13 1:48am
Books Inc. in Berkeley
1 on hand, as of Nov 14 1:59am
Books Inc. in Burlingame
3 on hand, as of Nov 14 2:04am
Books Inc. in Mountain View
3 on hand, as of Nov 14 1:47am
Books Inc. in Palo Alto
4 on hand, as of Nov 14 2:29am
Books Inc. in Opera Plaza/SF
1 on hand, as of Nov 14 2:24am
Books Inc. in Laurel Village/SF
1 on hand, as of Nov 14 2:16am
Books Inc. in the Marina/SF
1 on hand, as of Nov 14 2:19am
Compass Books-Terminal 2/SFO
1 on hand, as of Nov 14 2:08am
Compass Books-Terminal 3/SFO
1 on hand, as of Nov 14 2:12am
Books Inc. in Campbell
3 on hand, as of Nov 14 1:55am

Description


For fans of Andrew Smith and Frank Portman and the movies Election and Ferris Bueller’s Day Off comes a hilarious and satirical novel about the highs and (very low) lows of the electoral process, proving that the popular vote is the one that matters most.

Stacey Wynn was the clear front-runner for Lincoln High student council president. But then French-Canadian transfer student Julia Romero entered the race…and put the moves on Stacey’s best friend/campaign adviser, Brian.

Stacey also didn’t count on Tony Guo, resident stoner, whose sole focus is on removing the school’s ban of his favorite chocolate milk, becoming the voice of the little guy, thanks to a freshman political “mastermind” with a blue Mohawk.

Three candidates, three platforms, and a whirlwind of social media, gaffes, high school drama, and protests make for a ridiculously hilarious political circus that just may hold some poignant truth somewhere in the mix.

About the Author


Gordon Jack always wanted to be a writer. In third grade, he put that on his “What I Want to Be When I Grow Up” list, just behind astronaut and professional dog walker. While working toward this goal, he had jobs as an advertising copywriter, English teacher, librarian, and semiprofessional dog walker. The Boomerang Effect is his first novel. He lives in San Francisco with his family. Visit him online at www.gordon-jack.com or on Twitter @gordojack.

Praise For…


“Discerning readers will appreciate the timely and astute exploration of both the gravity and levity of identity politics and the critique of neoliberal ideals. Sharply observed-but so sharp it may be missed by less woke readers-this is satire at its best.”
— Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“The novel delivers some delectably insufferable politicians, pundits, media personalities, and fixers, all while making these teens relatably familiar. As politically smart as it is breathtakingly cynical, and it’s therefore perfect for readers who appreciate both qualities.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“The characters are complex and their thoughts and interactions intriguing. This breezy read features some romantic confusion, plenty of humor, and a few serious moments. A good choice.”
— School Library Journal


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062399427
ISBN-10: 006239942X
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: November 13th, 2018
Pages: 448
Language: English