0 Items $0.00

The Afterlife of Holly Chase (Hardcover)

The Afterlife of Holly Chase Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
Books Inc. in Palo Alto
1 on hand, as of Sep 20 1:36am

Description


Before I Fall meets “bah, humbug” in this contemporary YA reimagining of A Christmas Carol from New York Times bestselling author Cynthia Hand.

On Christmas Eve five years ago, seventeen-year-old Holly Chase was visited by three Ghosts who showed her how selfish and spoiled she’d become. They tried to convince her to mend her ways. She didn’t. And then she died.

Now she’s stuck working for the top-secret company Project Scrooge—as their latest Ghost of Christmas Past. So far, Holly’s afterlife has been miserable. But this year’s Scrooge is different. This year’s Scrooge might change everything…

The Afterlife of Holly Chase is a witty, poignant, and insightful novel about life, love, and seizing second (or third) chances, perfect for readers who loved Before I Fall or Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares.

About the Author


Cynthia Hand is the New York Times bestselling author of several books for teens, including the Unearthly trilogy, The Last Time We Say Goodbye, The Afterlife of Holly Chase, and My Lady Jane and My Plain Jane (with fellow authors Brodi Ashton and Jodi Meadows). Before turning to writing for young adults, she studied literary fiction and earned both an MFA and a PhD in fiction writing (although please don’t refer to her as “Dr. Hand,” as that’s the name of a cartoon super villain). She currently resides in Boise, Idaho, with her husband, who loves typewriters as much as she does, two cats, two kids, one crazy dog, and a mountain of books.

Praise For…


“A spunky, modern take on A Christmas Carol.”
— Kirkus Reviews

“Darkly funny. Save the coal and hand this to the Christmas spirit doubters.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“A good-spirited story from beyond the grave.”
— ALA Booklist

PRAISE FOR THE LAST TIME WE SAY GOODBYE: “A quietly powerful, emotionally complex novel that will echo with readers long after it is finished. Both shatteringly painful and bright with life and hope.”
— Booklist (starred review)

“Evocative and insightful.”
— Kirkus Reviews

“Raw, emotional, and gripping. An excellent and thoughtful exploration of grief.”
— School Library Journal

PRAISE FOR THE UNEARTHLY SERIES: “A divine supernatural romance.”
— Kirkus Reviews

“Hand debuts with an engrossing take on the angel mythos... an engaging and romantic tale with solid backstory.”
— Publishers Weekly (starred review)


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062318503
ISBN-10: 0062318500
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: October 24th, 2017
Pages: 400
Language: English