0 Items $0.00

Books Inc. Presents a Teen Publishing Summer Series

The Art of Getting Published Image

One of the most asked questions at author events is: "How do you get your book published?"

The publishing process can be a daunting mystery, with this series, we're hoping to encourage, foster, & educate the future.

Join us for four educational and interactive sessions where you will learn about the Publishing Industry from publishing professionals!

**Registration is required. Sign up for all 4 classes now for $140 dollars ($35/session) or purchase individual classes for $40/session.** 

Register for all 4 classes.

Class 1: Intro to Publishing 

May 20th at Books Inc. Santa Clara, 11 A.M. 

Hanna Walcher, Intro to Publishing class

In the first session of this series, you will:

1. Learn the basics of how the Publishing industry works

2. Learn publishing terms that will be used throughout the series

3. Learn about Indie First Publishers

We hope that you will leave this session with the basic knowledge needed to continue in this series and that it will be a good building block towards your success!

Participation: Ask Questons! Tell us what you want to get out of this course so we can better tailor this series to you! 

Register for this Individual Class

 

Class 2: The Author's Perspective 

June 3rd at Books Inc. Santa Clara, 11 A.M. 

Author Brittany Cavallaro

In this session you will:

1. Meet this amazing, published author and writing instructor, Brittany Cavallaro

2. Learn about her experience in getting published

3. Get her tips on honing your writing skills, finding your voice, and writing the perfect hook

We hope that you will leave this session with the knowledge of one author's experience and tips to tak back to your writing

Participation: Apply your newly learned skills and tips to your work. Before the next class, write or revise the first page of your manuscript! 

Register for this Individual Class. 

 

Class 3: The Editor's Perspective

July 15th at Books Inc. Santa Clara, 11 A.M. 

The Author's Perspective: Summer Dawn Laurie

In this session you will:

1. Meet experienced editor, Summer Dawn Laurie

2. Learn about the many roles of an editor and why they're important

3. Learn about a query letter and how to write one

3. Talk about editing your own work, including the first page of your manuscript

We hope that you will leave this session with a better uderstanding of what an editor's role is an how they are crucial to the publishing process. 

Participation: When you leave this session, you'll know how to write a query letter. Write one for you new or existing manuscript to be discussed in the final session. 

Register for this Individual Class

 

Class : The Agent's Perspective

August 12th at Books Inc. Santa Clara, 11 A.M. 

The Agent's Perspective: Jennifer March Soloway

In this session you will:

1. Meet Literary Agent, Jennifer March Soloway

2. Learn about the role of a Literary Agent and why it's important to have one

3. Discuss what makes a good manuscript and compelling querey letter

We hope you will leave this class and wrap up the series with the knowledge and excitement to continue on your path to becoming a published author! 

Register for this Individual Class

 

This is a first-of-its-kind opportunity that Books Inc. and NYMBC are proud to offer to our wonderful literary community. We hope that you are as excited about it as we are. 

Register for all 4 classes today!

First Looks Book Club Reviews

Every first Tuesday of the month, First Looks Book Club meets at Books Inc. Burlingame to talk about the advanced reader copies they read. Here are some of the reviews from last month's meeting!

Defy the Stars by Claudia Gray

Defy the Stars by Claudia Gray is available now!

A Face Like Glass by Frances Hardinge is available May 9th!

Night Witches by Kathryn Lasky Review

Night Witches by Kathryn Lasky is available now! 

The One Memory of Flora Banks by

The One Memory of Flora Banks by Emily Barr is available now! 

The Other Side of Summer by Emily Gale Review

The Other Side of Summer by Emily Gale is available May 29th!

Spirit Hunters by Ellen Oh Review

Spirit Hunters by Ellen Oh is available July 24th!

Strange the Dreamer by Lani Taylor Review

Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor is available now! 

If you're 12-18 years-old and are interesting in joining us, stop by Books Inc. Burlingame, sign up and pick a book! 

NYMBC Recommended Summer Reads

It's only mid April, but I'm freaking excited for Summer, and it's not just because there's no school, lots of sun, beach time, and ice cream cones, but because of all the great reads coming our way! I've been lucky enough to read a few of them early, so let me give you my top 3 picks for summer reads so far!

1. Wonder Woman: Warbringer by Leigh Bardugo

Wonder Woman: Warbringer by Leigh Bardugo

Bless Leigh Bardugo. Honestly. 

Review: Before you pick this book up, I'm going to advise you to do one thing: Forget everything you know about Wonder Woman. Leigh Bardugo wipes the slate clean and creates a new, modern history for Diana Prince and the Wonder Woman she is to become.
It's a tough feat to write a new story for such a beloved character, but Bardugo was up to the task, her signature wit and humor blend with the exciting action and twists and turns in a way that will be familiar to Bardugo fans and ring true to all Wonder Woman lovers. 
By far, one of my most anticipated books of 2017 and it did not disappoint. 

Reaction:

Wonder Woman Gif "Oh I don't Think You've Ever Know a Woman Like Me"

Wonder Woman: Warbringer hits stores this August. 

2. Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crawley

Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley

If you like books, bookstores, and books that hit you right in the feels, pick this one up.- 

Review :I haven't cried over a book in a long time, but this one almost got me. It's a love letter to books, words, and bookstores. But it's also about grief: "I'll tell her that I think he had been transmigrating all his life: leaving himself in the things he loved, in the people he loved. He brimmed over the edges of his own life, and escaped." Just a beautiful book all around, cover included. 

Reaction: 

GIF "Your Mouth is Smiling but your eyes look all sad.Why?"

Words in Deep Blue hits stores in June.

3. A Short History of the Girl Next Door by Jared Reck 

A Short History of the Girl Next Door by Jared Reck

For John Green fans AND those who weren't quite sold on John Green.

Review: Oh man. This book. I was up late last night bawling my eyes out and every time I thought I was done, it hit me again. A Short History of the Girl Next Door by Jared Reck is perfect for fans of John Green, you know, the author of all those books that destroyed you and you thanked him for it? Yeah that one. Reminiscent of Looking for Alaska, Short History dives into the world of high school freshmen Matt and Tabby who have been best friends their whole lives, living across the street from each other. Matt has been in love with Tabby for years, but it isn't until she starts dating the senior basketball star that he truly realizes how much. As Matt struggles with his own feelings, fighting to be supportive without breaking into LOVE ME tantrums, and his self-sabotaging tendencies of imagining movie-scene moments that real life never seems to match, he starts to spiral into a  self-destructive hole that's only compounded by a sudden tragedy. Full of rich, four dimensional characters and laugh out loud moments, A Short History of the Girl Next Door will make you cry, laugh, cry again, and spew water out of your noes. And you'll thank Jared Reck for the pain afterwards. 

 Also, I didn't count myself, but I was told there are about 300 curse words sprinkled through out the 265 pages. Epic.

HIGHLY Recommended. 

Reaction: 

GIF of Pam from the Office Smiling and Crying

A Short History of the Girl Next Door Comes out this September (IT'S STILL SUMMER!)

Have you read any of these? Tweet me your favorites! @nymbc

Happy reading! And eat as much ice cream as possible!

Wonder Woman Gif Ice Cream is Wonderful

 

Pages